Reflections In Hindsight

Grace in the Rearview Mirror…it's closer than it appears

  • Ephesians 4:29

    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. (NIV)

    **MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. For permission on reprints or reusing this material, please contact the individual authors. For sharing the actual post, please use the share buttons.

  • Blog Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 92,455 hits
  • RSS April’s Blog: A Writer’s Journey

    • Evil Parents and Rotten Kids
      A-ZE is for Evil Parents and Rotten KidsI present you Jimmy Kimmel's annual "I Told My Kids I Ate All Their Halloween Candy" video montage. It's an artful mixture of cruelty, humor, and ghastly awe. My favorite is Drawer Boy. Now there's an ax murderer in the making.Which is your favorite?
      noreply@blogger.com (April Gardner)
  • RSS Barn Door Book Loft

    • Journey To Gettysburg by Dr. Mark L. Hopkins
      Journey to Gettysburg is a dramatic replay of the events leading up to the most important battle of the Civil War. It is seen through the eyes of a Quaker boy who is first, a bystander and observer. Then, he is drawn into the conflict and becomes a participant in Pickett's Charge, the climax of the three day conflict. Matt Mason is a 15 year old boy who […]
    • Then There Was Grace by Tina Pinson
      Bored, Adam is prepared to divorce Grace, his wife of seven years. Then Grace is killed leaving him to raise Faith and Hope. The twins have no idea why the world's gone crazy. They just want their mother home and Adam isn't sure what to tell them. How can he tell them the truth, when he's not sure what the truth is? When he doesn't want t […]
    • A Warm Welcome to Tina Pinson
      Is there a story behind Then There Was Grace?I wrote the story just after the attacks on the Towers. The character deals with a future event of the same magnitude in which his wife is killed. The story is a parable of sorts because after what happened on 9/11, after watching people pray and come together before God and then letting it slip away, my story was […]
  • RSS Clash of the Titles

    • And this clash goes to....
      A BRIDE AT LAST by Melissa Jagears! Abandoned by his mail-order bride, Silas Jonesey has fought an uphill battle to recover from a pattern of poor choices. Now his prayers for reconciliation have finally come true and his estranged wife has contacted him with her whereabouts. Kate Dawson was supposed to be a mail-order bride, but upon realizing she'd be […]
    • The July Release Clash is on!
      Beautiful New July Covers!Welcome, fellow book lovers! As we wrap up summer, we're bringing you four wonderful reads to take out on your deck chair. From the mountains to the rugged west, these books offer a great variety of escapes. But if you could only pick one, which would make it into your need-to-read pile? Vote at the end--and don't forget t […]
    • Announcing the 2015 Laurel Finalists!
      The entries have been read and the scores have been tallied. Our unique panel of judges, comprised strictly of readers, has determined our three finalists. And they are…Ada Brownell's The Fugitive LadyAngie Brashear's Of the PersecutedDawn Crandall's The Bound HeartCongratulations to all three!!Thanks to all our Laurel entrants for participati […]
  • RSS Little Bits Blog

    • I'm Baack, I Think
      If you haven't noticed, which I actually hope you have, I haven't blogged for a while. Well, I needed a break. I'd published seven books in three years and I was sort of written out. I simply needed a break. So now I think the break is over. I'm thinking about writing again and have several projects in different stages of writing. They we […]
    • Chloe's Decision 
      As I stated last week, November is NANOWRIMO. I'm working on the next Stones Creek novel. It's the story of Chloe, Noah Preston's sister. She comes to Stones Creek with her two children. If you would like to read her pre-story simply subscribe to Sophie's Special Emails. No more than twice a month will you receive an email with special co […]
    • Remembering Fudgsicles
      It is November and thus NANOWRIMO, National Novel Writing Month. The challenge is to begin a novel and write 50,000 words during the month. Since this occupies most of my focus for these four weeks I will be reposting previous articles each week this month. Fudgsicles, how long has it been since I’ve had a fudgsicle? I’m not sure, but they came to mind when […]
  • RSS Living Our Faith Out Loud

    • Book Review Manila Marriage Ap by Jan Elder
      Passport to Romance SeriesApril 2015Pelican Ventures, White Rose PublishingRomantic novella115 ppEbook - $3.99Buy on AmazonAbout the BookIt all began as a lark. Shay Callahan’s life was just fine, thank you, but when the seemingly misogynistic missionary, Timothy Flynn, places an advertisement in a Christian magazine for a wife, Shay decides to give it a whi […]
    • Untitled
      Avalon by Vanessa MorganNon-fiction, memoir105 ppJune, 2015e-book: $3.89p-book: $9.99From the publisher:Some cats need nine lives to make a difference. Avalon only needed one.From Amazon bestselling author Vanessa Morgan, Avalon is the heartwarming and once-in-a-lifetime love story of a girl and her neurotic Turkish Van cat.With humor, the author details how […]
    • Uncharted Inheritance by Keely Brooke Keith
      About the Book: Bethany Colburn finally turns eighteen and Everett Foster is about to confess his love for her. When a new man arrives in the village of Good Springs, he brings charm Bethany has never encountered and illness the Land has never known. While the medicinal power of the gray leaf tree is put to the test and the Colburn family’s strength is stret […]
  • RSS Nearly Brilliant

    • The Color of the Season by Julianne MacLean
      NOTE:  Due to a serious need to cut back on my workload, this will be my last official book review on this blog.It doesn’t seem possible that the evening can get any worse for police officer Josh Wallace after he is dumped by the girlfriend he planned to propose to, but it does.  Josh and his partner are shot while chasing a carjacking suspect. While on the […]
    • Book Review: Swept Away (Trouble in texas Book 1) by Mary Connealy
      Ruthy MacNeil is rescued by Luke Stone after she nearly drowns fording a flooded river with a wagon train. Her step family doesn’t survive and she is finally free of their mistreatment. Luke surived the horrific ordeal as a prisoner of war in notorious Anderson prison during the civil war, only to learn that his father has been killed and the family ranch st […]
    • Book Review of Everything She Ever Wanted by Ann Rule
      When Pat Taylor wed Tom Allanson he had no way of knowing it would destroy his life in just a matter of weeksIn fact, Pat destroyed a lot of people’s lives. The attractive Southern belle was spoiled by her mother and she expected to live a lavish lifestyle at any cost. Nobody crosses Pat who was fascinated with Scarlett O’Hara. Pat could pour on the charm, b […]
  • BLOG NEWS

    Thank you for your encouragement and support for the past three years. We've had fun connecting with you and hope you've found useful material here on Reflections. And here's the but... Reflections In Hindsight is closing on December 21, 2012. Elaine and Sophie and I can be found over at http://authorculture.blogspot.com; April can be found at Clash of the Titles, http://www.clashofthetitles, http://www.aprilgardner.com and watch for news for more novels from her!; Janet is ever-present on the Internet with her very special words of wisdom and grace at http://www.janetperezeckles.com, and Luther--who knows where he'll show up next, but I'd watch my back if I were you... Book Reviews are always important, so I, Lisa, will continue to offer them through my blog, as well as those promotions for your new books or book launches, or your news.
  • Second Monday: Sophie Dawson

  • Tuesdays – Promotion in Motion

  • Wednesdays: Life of a Writer – April & Positivity – Lisa Lickel

  • Thursdays – Luther’s on board

  • Fridays – Revolutionary Faith, Devotions by Elaine

  • Saturdays – Janet Perez Eckles

  • Sunday – Reflections Book Reviews

  • Blog Authors

  • The Barn Door

  • The Barn Door Book Loft. Free Books! Book Giveaways.

  • John 3:16 Marketing Network widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)>

The Power of God and the Power of Prayer

Posted by Luther D. Powell on July 5, 2012

My area has been hit with some nasty storms in the past week. Scattered counties in Ohio have lost electricity for days, and folks are still cleaning up the mess of trees and debris everywhere. The worst of the storms hit me last Friday and my best friend, who lives a three-minute drive away from me, just got power back in his house last night. With the face-meltingly-intense heat we’ve had these past few weeks, I imagine anybody who doesn’t have electricity isn’t having a good time.

The afternoon the storm hit my house was pretty scary. I had just played a level of Plants vs. Zombies when I heard the rumble of distant thunder. I thought, “Better let the cat inside.” So I go to the front door and open it. Eunice runs in. Clouds are a bland, overcast grey. No rain. Wind seems calm, too calm. Then I look to my left and see the meanest, nastiest monster of a cloud, dark and greenish-grey, rolling towards me. “Ooh boy, this looks bad.” I stepped back inside and the second I got the door closed, a ferocious gust of wind and rain erupted all around my house. This storm came out of nowhere!

Turned on the TV to check the news and there were severe thunderstorm warnings scrolling along the bottom of nearly every channel. “Ya don’t say?” 80 mile an hour winds. Said people in my county should seek shelter because the storm had become “extremely dangerous.” It wasn’t letting up. Stuff was flying everywhere and it basically sounded like a train outside. I figure, “Shelter…yeah, good idea.”

The electricity started flickering. Now, the power has gone out during some wimpy storms over here, but I could tell this was bad. Did I mention I was home alone? As I scrambled through the house to find matches and candles, I prayed frantically, “Please, God, don’t let the power go out, please help me find some stupid candles fast enough, please don’t let our house blow down, please protect my house and those around it, in Jesus’ name, please help my family drive home safely, please take care of my friends through this, PLEASE DON’T LET THIS HOUSE BLOW DOWN!”

I couldn’t decide whether I would run to the crawlspace or try to light some candles before our power would go out permanently. The wind would die down a little, pick back up, die down, pick up, and every so often I ran to a window to see the damage outside. A tree in our front yard fell over. I prayed like a crazy person, got some candles lit, then paced the hallway waiting for the wind to die down again.

After fifteen or twenty minutes of hurricane-proportion winds, rain, hail, thunder and lightning, my older sister made it home from work in one piece. She had a rough time driving through the storm because power lines and trees were all over the road! After another ten minutes, my parents came home as well. The storm had calmed by then, and we still had power.

I think storms are beautiful, when they’re not tearing my neighborhood up. They showcase God’s power, and only but a hint of it. You can say goodbye to anything man-made if the winds blow hard enough. People question God’s motives behind storms all the time, and some horrible things have happened to people during fits of nature’s rage. It’s easy to wonder, “Why would God do that?” or rather, “Why would God let that happen?”

Been reading in Exodus lately, and I’ve noticed a pattern in the story of the plagues of Egypt. Whether or not Moses would ask God why He threw so much stuff on Egypt instead of just setting the Israelites free in the first place, God made His reasoning quite clear time after time:

“So you will know that I am God.”

We puny humans not only forget this way too easily, but I don’t think we ever dwell on the weight of that statement even when we do keep it in mind. For many worldly thinkers, it’s a bit too much to handle. So God creates us, claims to love us, and then He drops softball-sized hailstones on the windshield of our cars. What’s so loving about that, right?

Well…everything.

First of all, God cursed the ground after Adam and Eve sinned; the Earth goes nuts and gives us whirlwinds because we made it that way when we fell. Second, God has literally told us in our own language –which He GAVE us, by the way– that He can and will take away from us, and give back abundantly, to remind us that He’s in control. God loves us so much that He will remove the things that distract us from Him, knowing we need Him most. He’s also loving enough to give us the power of prayer, which, in my case, kept my house from losing electricity. I firmly believe this. Everybody I came into contact with after the storm told me that my house should not have had power anymore, but it did. We never lost electricity. And get this: we lost our cable, our internet, and our phone services. I didn’t pray that we’d keep those, but I prayed we’d keep our electricity. Coincidence? I kinda doubt it, because God has a great sense of humor about those little things.

The next time you’re caught in a beast of storm, remember these things: God isn’t doing this (or allowing, if you will) because He hates you, or because He just felt like messing up your stuff. He’s reminding you that you’re mortal, imperfect like the world around you, and in this flawed reality, you need Him more than anything else. If you pray, He will listen, because He wants you to acknowledge Him.

In Christ,

Luther D. Powell

4 Responses to “The Power of God and the Power of Prayer”

  1. Well said, Luther.

  2. Such a good reminder. It’s easy to forget that God is bigger than us, and is so much more capable and stronger than we are. But even in those scary storms, you can give your fears to Him and know He’s in control. Very cool.

  3. I understand the anxiety and fear when strong winds rain and hail come about having experienced storms and hurricanes. There’s nothing like prayer to help us ride out the storm. So happy you experienced a power greater than strong winds.

  4. Mom said

    I love the way you made me laugh and then made such profound statements. I’m glad God protected us too!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,246 other followers

