Reflections In Hindsight

Grace in the Rearview Mirror…it's closer than it appears

  • Ephesians 4:29

    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. (NIV)

    **MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. For permission on reprints or reusing this material, please contact the individual authors. For sharing the actual post, please use the share buttons.

  • Blog Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 83,281 hits
  • RSS April’s Blog: A Writer’s Journey

    • Celebrating the Church Year
      by guest author, Jessica SnellThe Lord is always with us. We are never out of His presence, never hidden from His eyes.But it’s hard for us to remember that.Where He is omniscient, and never sleeps, never slumbers, we are distracted and busy and fallible. Though He is always mindful of us, it is hard for us to keep our thoughts constantly turned towards Him. […]
      noreply@blogger.com (April Gardner)
  • RSS Barn Door Book Loft

    • Featuring Critical Condition by Richard L. Mabry (Doc)
      Back Cover Blurb:It was supposed to be a quiet dinner party with her colleagues. Not the scene of a murder.But the murder of a stranger on her front lawn is only the first in a string of events that have Dr. Shannon Frasier’s life teetering on the edge of chaos: She’s unable to make the deeper commitment her boyfriend deserves. Her sister shows up at Shannon […]
    • An Interview With Texas Author Richard L. Mabry
      Welcome Doc Mabry, we are so thrilled to have you here with us today. I hope you don't mind that I used a photo of your book signing with a different book. I felt our readers need to know you have published many books.And now we want to know more about your novel Critical Condition. What can you tell us about the story behind this book? Most of my books […]
    • Interviewing Christian Author V.B. Tenery
      Welcome to the Barn Door Book Loft, Virginia. We are glad to have you here with us today.Question: Is there a story behind your book Works of Darkness?I wanted this story to show the consequences of not taking responsibility for ones actions, and the consequence of failing to do so. Question: What started you on your writing journey? I’ve always been an avid […]
  • RSS Clash of the Titles

    • Permanent Resident at the Purse Table, a COTT Feature
      “Keisha’s debut novel is a sweet reminder of the redeeming power of love, along with a dose of drama between good friends! Her characters are so relatable because they’re imperfect people who’ve made some serious mistakes—just like the rest of us!”-Michelle Stimpson,nNational Bestselling AuthorAbout the book:If you’re size six, you dance. If you’re Ava Alexa […]
    • Escape to Ireland in "Londonderry Dreaming"
       "If you need one of those “Ahh…” moments, consider taking a trip with Keith and Naomi and read Londonderry Dreaming"--Sandy Ardoin, Romance Author and BloggerAbout Londonderry Dreaming:Acclaimed New York artist, Naomi Boyd, and music therapist, Keith Wilson, loved one another five years ago, until her grandfather with his influence over Naomi sepa […]
    • Worth the Wait--A Win Worth Waiting for!
      All the best things in life are worth striving for,such as Christmas, babies, and winning at Clash of the Titles! Our latest winner is a YA novel that, according to one of our voters, is the "perfect high school drama." The readers have spoken!Hats off to you, Laura, for your smashing win!To celebrate Worth the Wait's win, the e-book will be o […]
  • RSS Little Bits Blog

    • Spring's Tease
      April is here. It's supposed to be spring. Well, it was supposed to be spring in March but not much has been in evidence. We've endured a tough COLD winter. Now the weather is supposed to warm. Crocus, tulips, daffodils and such are to be poking their heads out of the ground. For every one springlike day we have been getting four to five cold winte […]
    • Seeing The Life - Chapters 1-2
      I'm working fast and furious on my next book, Seeing The Life. My goal is to have it finished by the 15th and the release date is June 7. I truly feel God's hand in this work more than any other. The life of Jesus is well known and studied by, hopefully, all Christians. It places a huge burden on me to make sure things are correct not only in his l […]
    • Help!! I'm Being Buried 
      I've done it again. My email inboxes are overflowing. In my personal email there are 658 emails with 441 unread. In my Soph [...]
  • RSS Living Our Faith Out Loud

    • Fun new cozy by Susan Bernhardt
      The Ginseng ConspiracyBy Susan BernhardtEbook 5.95MuseItUp PublishingJanuary 2014  Amazon Barnes and Noble MuseItUp About the Book:On her way to attend a Halloween Ball, Kay Driscoll, a newcomer to town, witnesses the murder of a local professor. When the official coroner's report rules the cause of death to be accidental and the community accepts the j […]
    • Women's Expo starts next week April 17!
      Thursday, April 17, 2014, time 1-4 PM CT location www.BibleStudyExpo.comHere's a taste of what you can expect:1 PM CT - Lisa Bevere starts off our Expo with the story behind her book Girls with Swords: How to Carry Your Cross Like a Hero  1:15 CT - Dr. Jackie Roese will share the story behind Inhabit: A Study on the Holy Spirit. 1:30 CT - Kathy Howard w […]
    • Authors in Bloom - fun stuff, giveaways, tips, eReader prize drawing
      10 Days of Giveaways - Gardening Tips – Recipes - and more!Plus a GRAND PRIZE* you’ll be digging to win!What will be given away? Everything from books to swag, promotional products and more! The grand prize is a Kindle or Nook (a $200 value) and a $25 gift card worth of ebooks!!! (Winner’s choice which ereader and ebook retailer gift card.) A second prize of […]
  • RSS Nearly Brilliant

    • BOOK REVIEW: GOING ONCE BY SHARON SALA
      Nola Landry barely survives a flood in her small Louisiana town by clinging to a tree on higher ground. While hidden in its branches, she witnesses the brutal killing of three neighbors who are shot by a man in uniform in a boat. After being rescued, and losing her home, she is rescued by three FBI agents who have come to town to track a serial killer nickna […]
    • Book Release and Author Spotlight: Paula Mowrey, Legacy & Love
      Today I am featuring author Paula Mowery who has just released her first solo fiction book, Legacy and Love.Paula  is a published author, acquisitions editor, and speaker. Her first two published works were The Blessing Seer and Be The Blessing from Pelican Book Group. Both are women’s fiction, and their themes have been the topics of speaking engagements. I […]
    • Book Review: Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
      Every now and then a book comes along that will stick with you for the rest of your life. For me Unbrokenis one of them. The story is based on a true story about the life of Louis Zamperini.  Zamperini, the son poor Italian immigrants, grew up in California and was a wild child on the path to serious delinquency when his older brother Pete finally managed to […]
  • BLOG NEWS

    Thank you for your encouragement and support for the past three years. We've had fun connecting with you and hope you've found useful material here on Reflections. And here's the but... Reflections In Hindsight is closing on December 21, 2012. Elaine and Sophie and I can be found over at http://authorculture.blogspot.com; April can be found at Clash of the Titles, http://www.clashofthetitles, http://www.aprilgardner.com and watch for news for more novels from her!; Janet is ever-present on the Internet with her very special words of wisdom and grace at http://www.janetperezeckles.com, and Luther--who knows where he'll show up next, but I'd watch my back if I were you... Book Reviews are always important, so I, Lisa, will continue to offer them through my blog, as well as those promotions for your new books or book launches, or your news.
  • Second Monday: Sophie Dawson

  • Tuesdays – Promotion in Motion

  • Wednesdays: Life of a Writer – April & Positivity – Lisa Lickel

  • Thursdays – Luther’s on board

  • Fridays – Revolutionary Faith, Devotions by Elaine

  • Saturdays – Janet Perez Eckles

  • Sunday – Reflections Book Reviews

  • Blog Authors

  • The Barn Door

  • The Barn Door Book Loft. Free Books! Book Giveaways.

  • John 3:16 Marketing Network widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)>

Yes, Jesus, PLEASE Take the Wheel

Posted by JoAnn Durgin on July 6, 2011

Few things in life are scarier than riding in a minivan (may it be duly noted the only vehicle you have at the moment, shared between four drivers) with your child – as her passenger. Add to that the first heavy downpour of rain she’s ever encountered as a new driver with her driver’s permit. Ah yes, the joys of parenting. I pray under my breath that all the intelligence genes she inherited from her summa cum laude father are in full, operational working order. And pray the calm-under-pressure attitude she got from her feisty mother will serve her well.

So, we’re driving Jim to his softball game after they’ve picked me up from my downtown office building in Louisville and Sarah from her job in southern IN (not as far as it might sound – just a hop, skip and jump away across the bridge spanning the Ohio River). You hear about the heavens opening up and dumping a deluge of flooding rains on an area within minutes… Get the picture? Blinding rain poured from the heavens. I murmured a prayer under my breath. If Chelsea can get through this, she’ll get through anything.

 “Chelsea, you do know where the knob is to control the windshield wipers, right?” I’m not even sure who asked. Me, I think. Maybe Sarah.

“Um, no.” Chelsea veers slightly over the line into the lane on the right as she’s fumbling for the control.

“On the lever to the left of the steering wheel,” I instruct, maintaining my semblance of calm although I can envision a trip to the dentist in the near future for my teeth grinding problem. But there’s no sense in getting Chelsea panicky.

“Chelsea, watch it!” That from my all-knowing, all-wise 21-year old, Sarah. “Most accidents are caused by people not paying attention, you know.”

“I’m paying attention!” Chelsea protests. “I’m just trying to find the stupid knob. And it’s texting and stuff that causes accidents.” Thank goodness, she readily finds the knob and turns on the windshield wipers.

Then the middle-aged guy (and midlife crisis candidate) driving the old, restored Corvette in front of us makes the snap decision to come to a dead stop under the highway overpass – right in the middle of the street – so he can put the top up on his convertible. “Look out!” That from all three of us. I can’t help it as my hand grips the arm of my seat. Chelsea immediately steps on the brake – to her credit, not too hard. She darts those big green/gray eyes my way and seems somewhat assured by my shaky but semi-confident smile and head bob. I’m suddenly reminded of one of the most profound things my brother ever told me in terms of driving: “Remember, JoAnn, they’re all nuts.” Even though I’m an optimist, those words make a lot of sense in terms of defensive driving.

“Just watch for puddles to avoid hydroplaning, Chelsea. It hasn’t rained in a few days,” I advise. “The build-up of oil on the road makes it slick.”

My daughter nods, dutifully resuming her 10-and-2 position on the steering wheel (people really do that?), stepping gingerly on the accelerator as we once again move forward. I can almost see the sigh of relief escaping from her. Chelsea’s tough like her mother. She’ll be just fine.

“Chelsea, there’s a cop coming out of that alley. I hope you have your permit!” I turn halfway in my seat and silence Sarah with a zip it look and do that silly close your mouth gesture where it looks like I’m turning a key over my lips. Yeah, our oldest got the teasing thing from her dad.

“This is nuts,” Jim grumps, slumping against the seat behind Chelsea, peering out the window with a disgruntled frown. He’s obviously more concerned about weather patterns than survival and defensive driving skills at the moment. “It’s raining on the west side of the street but dry on the east side!” Why does the man constantly employ directions as part of his everyday vocabulary? As he sits stewing in his softball uniform (pretty cute, I have to admit – after almost 24 years of marriage, I’m thankful I still call him cute), he expresses a wish for continuing rain to aid his frustrated attempts at killing the weeds in our pitiful lawn (don’t ask, please). Yet another part of him really wants to play – something about that male bonding thing that is sports. But he’s also rather exhausted from playing basketball for two hours on his extended lunch hour (poor baby). I can’t help the eye roll that meets this statement: “I’m not sure I’m up to playing two hours of softball tonight, anyway.” You must understand all the “Why does she have to get off late, tonight of all nights? I really have to get to the field to warm up before the game,” comments we endured as we waited for Sarah to get off from work.

I’m just thankful 15-year-old Matthew isn’t in the car. He and Chelsea have enough squabbles in the summer when they have too much time on their hands. One thing’s for sure - he would probably hold any driving mistakes over her head and never let her forget it. Sound vaguely familiar? On the other hand, he’s generally a very sweet kid and would no doubt be looking out the car windows for the inevitable rainbow since the sun is shining in spite of all the rain. Like his dad, he loves all things directional and weather patterns. But he sees the goodness, the light and the rainbows of life (although he does love storms).

A couple of hours later, I sit here wondering what to write about. I’m thinking about how the Lord has protected me in a car on several occasions. I can say I was on the side of the car (a Gremlin – remember those? I’m just thankful it wasn’t a Pinto) bumped by a semi on a highway outside Indianapolis. The driver of our car (a sorority sister) missed the exit and decided she wasn’t going to backtrack. So, she stops, shifts the car into reverse, and heads onto the freeway exit ramp. Enter semi. Swerve car. The truck clipped the back of the Gremlin, sending us spinning. But the car didn’t flip. And it was nothing short of a miracle no one was hurt.

A few years later, in Dallas, I encountered the underside of a semi, up close and personal when the back end of my cute, treasured Mustang slid beneath it (after yet another swerve). You know, in that all-important hindsight, it’s a miracle I don’t have nightmares about trucks. I literally walked away from that accident with glass hanging from my hair. With nary a scratch on my head otherwise. I feel compelled to tell you this was a no-fault collision, but I found it difficult to believe the truck driver stood in the middle of the street complaining about the blonde in the silver car while I marched off to a nearby hotel to call a tow-truck and the police. The only other time I had such an encounter was my fault. High on life after signing my first publishing contract (and yes, this is where my confession comes into play in today’s blog), I swung out of our driveway a little too fast and clipped the corner of the brick wall of the garage. This time, I didn’t swerve far enough or fast enough. Unfortunately, the wall won. I’ll never forget the man at church shaking his head, trying not to laugh, and asking me, “JoAnn, at what point did you realize you’d actually hit the wall?” Not until I’d demolished most of the right side of the van. But hey, no one was hurt. The only thing hurt was my pride. But someday I’ll employ that experience – and my resultant feeling of incredible stupidity – into a book. Ah, He has a way of keeping us humble, doesn’t He?

I, for one, am so thankful and grateful that I have Someone to take over when my humanity fails me, as it so often does. And I’m not just talking about driving. I really am a good driver, but yes, the rest of the world can be a bit nuts. I’ll pray for our children and all the young people out there to maintain their focus in a world gone crazy. May I always keep my eyes on the road, and on the task He sets forth for me, and fulfill the unique and wonderful purpose He intends for me. As I pray the same for you. Until next time, blessings my friends.

Jeremiah 29:11: For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.

One Response to “Yes, Jesus, PLEASE Take the Wheel”

  1. I was practically gripping MY seat reading the account of your daughter driving in that downpour! You are SO calm under pressure! True confessions: I had to give the job of training our kids as new drivers to my husband. I couldn’t take the stress! All I could think was, “I used to change this boy’s diapers and now I’m entrusting him with my life?” But you’re so right—our lives are in God’s hands. And He does know the plans he has for us. Great post JoAnn! You must be a well-known writer! ;-)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,249 other followers

