Reflections In Hindsight

Grace in the Rearview Mirror…it's closer than it appears

  • Ephesians 4:29

    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. (NIV)

    **MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. For permission on reprints or reusing this material, please contact the individual authors. For sharing the actual post, please use the share buttons.

  • Blog Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 87,096 hits
  • RSS April’s Blog: A Writer’s Journey

    • Bricks of Savannah
      B is for Bricks of SavannahSavannah is a short 2.5-hour drive from home, but it took us five years to make it there. Five years! Unthinkable. The bricks.Savannah has been around since 1773, making it the oldest city in Georgia. History oozes from its varied buildings and twenty-four squares--most of them constructed with bricks and dusted with centuries of s […]
      noreply@blogger.com (April Gardner)
  • RSS Barn Door Book Loft

    • A Ghost's Story: Caught Between Life and Death by David Royce
      While out for a run one morning, Jake Weller suffers a critical heart attack triggering a trip to the morgue and what seems to be a near-death experience. But he’s actually dead. The problem is he doesn’t feel dead. He can still experience the world as before only he can’t be seen or heard. Coming to terms with this new reality, he meets an enigmatic—and cha […]
    • Featuring Raelee May Carpenter's Kings and Shepherds
      Back Cover BlurbAfter the death of her mother, Princess Ikia of Ha-or rebels against her adoptive father, King Emet. Her crusade against him starts simply but quickly grows dangerous when she agrees to betray him to the Emperor of the neighboring kingdom.Book Excerpt:Prologue: The King-   Hundreds of people – all who had left their shoes at the door, for She […]
    • Please Welcome Christian Author Raelee May Carpenter
      Welcome to the Barn Door Book Loft Raelee.Is there a story behind your book Kings and Shepherds? A band called Plankeye put out this song years ago called “Whisper To Me,” and one day I was listening to it for like the thousandth time when line, “I watched eternity collide to bring you to Me” hit me like a MAC truck.At that moment, I saw my place in the univ […]
  • RSS Clash of the Titles

    • ANNOUNCING THE LAUREL FINALISTS!
      The entries have been read and the scores have been tallied. Our unique panel of judges, comprised strictly of readers, has determined our three finalists. And they are…Ruth Reid's A Miracle of HopeJune Foster's Deliver UsCarole Brown's The Redemption of Caralynne HaymanCongratulations to all three!!(Of special note, this is Ruth's second […]
    • Winner of the August New Releases Clash
      Thanks to all of our participants for their wonderful submissions. Congratulations to Our Winner!   Having his younger sister at camp was a pain, but Taylor Dixon never expected the pain to go so deep. At 15, Taylor dreams of getting his driver’s license and driving racecars when he’s older. Only his younger sister, Marissa, believes in his dreams, but her […]
    • August New Releases Clash
      Clash of the Titles presents four brand new inspirational novels. One’s set in a Bible camp for tweens or the tweens in your lives. Hopes and dreams are threatened in another. In the third, a town’s in need of a miracle. Two people work to cure a deadly disease in the fourth. Which one will you read first? Browse the books, then, using the voting box below, […]
  • RSS Little Bits Blog

    • 12 Reasons to Live in a Small Town
      Living in small towns has special challenges and delights. When I say ‘small’ I mean ‘small’. The town I live near has approximately 250 people. The county seat has 3600 and the county has about 16,000. So this is rural America. You might think this county was in the western states where the population is lower and space is not a problem. No, I live in Illin […]
    • A Slave Of God
      I am a slave of Yaweh. We shy away from the concept, and understandably so, given the history of slavery here is the US.  I am one, however, and proud to declare it. As a believer in Christ, I have been paid for by Yeshua through his death and resurrection.  Thus, he owns me and I am his slave. Paul, Timothy and James, the brother of Christ, all claimed it. […]
    • What Is Your Ambition?
      Often people will wonder what God's will for their life is. Paul told us in 1 Thess. 4:11 and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and attend to your own business and work with your hands, just as we commanded you.We make it so complicated. It's simple really. Keep your life simple. Keep your nose out of others business (translation; don […]
  • RSS Living Our Faith Out Loud

    • Equanimity: The Spirit Within by Samuel D. Bartoli
      Equanimity: The Spirit Within by Samuel D. BartoliMemoir, Self-helpHalo Publishing International  January 2014 Buy on Amazonand Barnes & Noble.About the Book:Equanimity: The Spirit Within is a story about a man’s search for meaning as he comes to terms with losing everything that he knew and valued. After winning the 1992 Southern California Middleweight […]
    • Girls Night Out Mingle with the Authors Nov 20 in West Bend
      That's right!All kinds of give-aways...door prizesWine-tastingcheeseflavored olive oil dipsromance books!All In BooksGIRLS NIGHT OUT!!! at All In Books 910 S. Main Street West BendMINGLE WITH THE AUTHORS Lisa Lickel and Nicolette PierceThursday November 20th After Hours: 6:30 PM $15 a person Tickets available at All In Books or pay button below - no Pay […]
    • Book Review Gabriel by Jayna Morrow
      Gabriel Jayna Morrowc. 2014Prism Book GroupISBN: 978-1940099453Price 3.9911.99buy on Amazonbuy on Barnes and NobleTexas RomanceGabriel Hearth, the title character, has some serious relationship troubles. From the opening scene of being left at the altar to the realization that this is not his first failed attempt at romance, the reader is carried along on a […]
  • RSS Nearly Brilliant

    • BOOK REVIEW: UNDERTOW BY DESMOND CORY
      This is my first introduction to Desmond Cory and his British Intelligence man Johnny Fedora. Cory is known for these spy novels among other written works. The first Fedora novel made its debut in 1951  and the character actually predates the first James Bond book by about three years I believe. I have never read a James Bond novel but have watched the movie […]
    • BOOK REVIEW: MY TEMPORARY LIFE BY MARTIN CROSBIE
      A sensitive coming of age story of Malcom Wilson who is shuttled between divorced parents. He lives part of his time in Canada with his promiscuous mother and the other half in Scotland with his hard working, tough father.Along the way Wilson learns how to survive and make the best of his situation no matter how hard and also what it means to experience kind […]
    • BOOK REVIEW: THE RIGHT INGREDIENTS BY NANCY BOLTON
      This romance will make your taste buds water. Ann co-owns and runs a local bakery but the long hours and hectic pace leave her little time for any kind of life. She’s also an introvert with little experience with dating. When Tom literally walks in one day and saves the day, they are immediately drawn to each other. He’s a single widowed dad with a charming […]
  • BLOG NEWS

    Thank you for your encouragement and support for the past three years. We've had fun connecting with you and hope you've found useful material here on Reflections. And here's the but... Reflections In Hindsight is closing on December 21, 2012. Elaine and Sophie and I can be found over at http://authorculture.blogspot.com; April can be found at Clash of the Titles, http://www.clashofthetitles, http://www.aprilgardner.com and watch for news for more novels from her!; Janet is ever-present on the Internet with her very special words of wisdom and grace at http://www.janetperezeckles.com, and Luther--who knows where he'll show up next, but I'd watch my back if I were you... Book Reviews are always important, so I, Lisa, will continue to offer them through my blog, as well as those promotions for your new books or book launches, or your news.
  • Second Monday: Sophie Dawson

  • Tuesdays – Promotion in Motion

  • Wednesdays: Life of a Writer – April & Positivity – Lisa Lickel

  • Thursdays – Luther’s on board

  • Fridays – Revolutionary Faith, Devotions by Elaine

  • Saturdays – Janet Perez Eckles

  • Sunday – Reflections Book Reviews

  • Blog Authors

  • The Barn Door

  • The Barn Door Book Loft. Free Books! Book Giveaways.

  • John 3:16 Marketing Network widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)>

The Joys We Don’t Know

Posted by Luther D. Powell on October 11, 2012

A very interesting question came up during a Bible study with a group of friends a few nights ago. The study involved the Christian perspective of death, and what it means to die as a follower of Christ. Reading from Philippians, Paul was describing how he wouldn’t be ashamed when he would finally come to the throne of God. This brought up the question, when we get to Heaven, will we even be able to feel ashamed? This question led to a broader one: when we get to Heaven, will we experience emotions we can’t experience here on Earth?

The so-called “Joy of The Lord” is rather mysterious to me. I know it when I feel it, I think others do too, but I don’t really know just how to… summon it, so to speak. To channel it, to hold tightly to it when I have it, it’s a difficult task. I am aware of a certain heightened positive outlook on things I get whenever I’m “on fire” for God; when I’m at a spiritual high, when I feel like I’m growing and growing closer, helping someone else grow closer, that sort of thing. But to just ask for it, to wait for it, I rarely just have it.

I believe some people have it a lot more often than I do, for sure. I can see it in people, hear it in their voices. The mystical joy of The Lord is fascinating to me, because contemplating this question from my Bible study, it makes me feel like the joys we know here are only a fraction of the positive emotions Heaven may offer. To recognize a special happiness that I only receive when I feel closest to Jesus tells me that Heaven could be filled to the brim with versions of happy we can’t comprehend with our wittle human bwains.

I don’t know about you, but I can imagine pure ecstasy while sauntering along the cosmos with my Creator. But what I can imagine here on Earth is probably nothing compared to the awareness of joy we’ll get in Heaven. Our imagination here has limits like the rest of the aspects of our Earthly life, but in Paradise, where there are no tears, no sin, no sadness, where goodness reigns eternally, there could be endless joys.

I’m kind of ranting, I know, but just think about it! I treasure every moment of peace, happiness and joy down here because, like any other person, I realize I’m going to die someday. But unlike EVERY human, I must remind myself that there is a better afterlife with my awesome God where all sorrows will be forgotten. Not only that, but we’ll probably gain emotions, senses and passions we never knew existed when we spend time with Jesus.

I’ve been sick and these past few days have been kind of rotten, but thoughts like these bring me peace emotionally, mentally and spiritually. If you ask me, it’s a pretty good sign if just thinking about the joys of Heaven bring you peace while you’re still on Earth. I hope this brings you readers a sort of peace as well. Cheers and God bless!

In Christ,

Luther D. Powell

3 Responses to “The Joys We Don’t Know”

  1. Your post raises a question that I have. Most persons say that when persons die they go straight to heaven. That I think is not quite what the Bible says, as I understand that persons die and sleep until Jesus comes and all in Christ will be raised and then taken to heaven.
    If as it is believed widely that persons die and go to heaven and are watching over their loved ones here one earth, how can they possibly be happy when they look down and see all the pain and suffering and evil that is occurring in the world. That certainly would not be a joyous place to be.
    Rather I think that when this world ends and is totally destroyed those in heaven will have no memories of what happened before as the Bible says in Revelations, God will wipe away all tears from their eyes.

    • Luther D. Powell said

      That is a good question. I for one can’t say whether or not I believe people will go straight to Heaven when they die, but I will say this much. I believe that once in Heaven, whether we all go together or we go as soon as we die on Earth, we are made new. If we don’t completely forget all the bad things on Earth, then we’ll probably accept it all peacefully, and be glad for the things we learned from such experiences. As for worrying over the loved ones still on Earth, I think it’s difficult for us to understand the eternal goodness Heaven has to offer, because I believe, when we’re in God’s presence, it would be impossible for us to worry about anything else. While we may think we’ll worry for our loved ones while we’re still here, once we’re in Heaven (if we don’t all go together, that is) we may be at total peace with the knowledge of God’s full control over all things. I don’t know if that makes sense, but I thought I’d give you my input.

  2. Mom said

    Here’s what I think: We have no clue. We can’t imagine what it will be like. There’s nothing here on earth to compare it to. That’s what I think. Good blog, buddy.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,246 other followers

