Reflections In Hindsight

Grace in the Rearview Mirror…it's closer than it appears

  • Ephesians 4:29

    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. (NIV)

    **MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. For permission on reprints or reusing this material, please contact the individual authors. For sharing the actual post, please use the share buttons.

  • Blog Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 86,304 hits
  • RSS April’s Blog: A Writer’s Journey

    • Cinema Saturday-- The 41 Most Unexpected Cat Jumps of All Time
      Why do jumping cats freak us out so much? And why do we laugh so hard at people who are freaking out?I'm one of those awkward laughers--someone who laughs at inappropriate times, such as when my husband does the splits on an icy sidewalk or when my child runs smack-dab into a doorpost. Unfortunately, compassion is not my go-to emotion. I do eventually f […]
      noreply@blogger.com (April Gardner)
  • RSS Barn Door Book Loft

    • A Warm Welcome to Caryl McAdoo
      It's a pleasure to welcome Caryl to our blog today! She lives an interesting life, and it's no wonder this book is historical! Tell us, Carol . . .Is there a story behind HEARTS STOLEN? The stories (plural) behind HEARTS STOLEN came from the fascinating research of the Republic of Texas’ early days. The captivating history of the Texas Rangers, whi […]
    • Heart Stolen by Caryl McAdoo
      Back Cover Blurb:Unbeknownst to loved ones, a headstrong young wife is snatched off the prairie by two Comanche braves, carried north of the Red River, and traded to their war chief for ponies. After five years, a small detail of Texas Rangers rides into camp, and she determines that day will bring freedom or death. She’ll remain captive no more.Sassy Nighte […]
    • Creighton's Hideaway by LoRee Peery
      Needing to finish her thesis in order to keep her job working with youth in a residential treatment center, Shana Arnold sequesters herself on Creighton Rice’s Nebraska ranch. She expects the secluded hideaway to provide a peaceful environment. What she doesn't expect is to become the victim of identity theft and a crazed home invader.Creighton Rice has […]
  • RSS Clash of the Titles

    • Birthday Bash Giveaway, Day 4!
      ...var cpo = []; cpo["_object"] ="cp_widget_8777b1b5-38a5-4007-b2e6-6d85a0415b93"; cpo["_fid"] = "AQDAx8rmo4Jx"; var _cpmp = _cpmp || []; _cpmp.push(cpo); (function() { var cp = document.createElement("script"); cp.type = "text/javascript"; cp.async = true; cp.src = "//www.cincopa.com/media-pla […]
    • Birthday Bash Giveaway, Day 3!
      ...var cpo = []; cpo["_object"] ="cp_widget_8777b1b5-38a5-4007-b2e6-6d85a0415b93"; cpo["_fid"] = "AQDAx8rmo4Jx"; var _cpmp = _cpmp || []; _cpmp.push(cpo); (function() { var cp = document.createElement("script"); cp.type = "text/javascript"; cp.async = true; cp.src = "//www.cincopa.com/media-pla […]
    • Birthday Bash Giveaway, Day 2!
      ...var cpo = []; cpo["_object"] ="cp_widget_8777b1b5-38a5-4007-b2e6-6d85a0415b93"; cpo["_fid"] = "AQDAx8rmo4Jx"; var _cpmp = _cpmp || []; _cpmp.push(cpo); (function() { var cp = document.createElement("script"); cp.type = "text/javascript"; cp.async = true; cp.src = "//www.cincopa.com/media-pla […]
  • RSS Little Bits Blog

    • Something Special This Way Comes
      Summer is over. Time to get back to writing and creating. Now is the time for me to develop new and exciting (hopefully) aspects to my live as an author. So... the new things I am adding are Sophie's Special Emails and Christian Author Interviews Podcast. Sophie's Special Emails - This will be a newsletter that goes out about once every two weeks. […]
    • A Lifetime of Sewing
      I learned to sew at the age of eight. We went on a three week vacation to Connecticut to visit family. Along the way we traveled to different sites. I remember Niagara Falls and Sault Ste. Marie as well as my aunt, uncle, and cousins but that's about it. We traveled in a green station wagon. Mom, Dad, me, my sister, Cheryl, and brother Dave. She was 10 […]
    • So I'm Back And Writing
      It is now September. One more day of hot weather. I drained the pool today. There are tomatoes needing canning. I'm starting blogging again today. I took two months off to enjoy the summer and spend more time with my granddaughter. I did just that. Now it's time to regularly post my ever inspiring thoughts and ... whatever. Okay, so my not so inspi […]
  • RSS Living Our Faith Out Loud

    • Book Review: Trevelyan by Naomi Musch
      TrevelyanNaomi Musch      Publisher: Desert Breeze Publishing, Inc. (May 21, 2014)     ASIN: B00KI26HKW4.99, 10.95 printBuy on AmazonFrom the publisher: Five men and two Elven princes have embarked upon a quest: to save a sister from the wasteland of the Great Winter where she is held in the clutches of a Monster Lord who all believe brought desecration and […]
    • Lisa Lickel's Last Detail Book Giveaway September 11-13
      Join me for my birthday celebration and enter to win a print version of The Last Detail. .goodreadsGiveawayWidget { color: #555; font-family: georgia, serif; font-weight: normal; text-align: left; font-size: 14px; font-style: normal; background: white; } .goodreadsGiveawayWidget img { padding: 0 !important; margin: 0 !important; } .goodreadsGiveawayWidget a […]
    • Meet My Character, Grace Runyon
      Meet My Character Sweet romance author Gail Pallotta has some thoughtful questions about my character, Grace Runyon, who is the heroine in Healing Grace, a paranormal inspirational romance. Before I tell you about Grace, let's talk a little about Gail, and her great teen mystery, Stopped Cold. About Gail:Award-winning author Gail Pallotta is a wife, Mom […]
  • RSS Nearly Brilliant

    • Book Release and Giveaway: Hush in the Storm by Julie Cosgrove
      Author Julie Cosgrove is giving away two electronic copies of her new book Hush in the Storm. To quality, leave a comment at the end of this blog stating why you would like to win this book. Below is Julie's author bio and a book blurb. Thanks Julie for sharing you book with us. The book drawing will be on 9/25/14.Book Blurb:  Jen, a young widow flounde […]
    • Book Review: Claire’s Not So Gothic Romance by Bonnie Blythe
      Claire is a shy, plain girl who works at a florist, lives with her mom and loves Jane Eyre. When she has a minor accident while delivering flowers she ends up in the hospital and meets up with Sam. The attractive male is captivated by her. For Claire it’s too good to be true. Sam is a nice guy who admits he has a past but has cleaned up his act. When that pa […]
    • Book Review: The Ransom by MaryLu Tyndall
      The Ransom centers on Juliana Dutton who is trying desperately to keep her household from the brink of ruin. She runs her father’s shipping business in Jamaica in 1692 while he is gravely ill, keeping his condition  a secret so as not to run the risk of losing all his clients. But she cannot shake off her troubles including a brother who is a wastrel and a p […]
  • BLOG NEWS

    Thank you for your encouragement and support for the past three years. We've had fun connecting with you and hope you've found useful material here on Reflections. And here's the but... Reflections In Hindsight is closing on December 21, 2012. Elaine and Sophie and I can be found over at http://authorculture.blogspot.com; April can be found at Clash of the Titles, http://www.clashofthetitles, http://www.aprilgardner.com and watch for news for more novels from her!; Janet is ever-present on the Internet with her very special words of wisdom and grace at http://www.janetperezeckles.com, and Luther--who knows where he'll show up next, but I'd watch my back if I were you... Book Reviews are always important, so I, Lisa, will continue to offer them through my blog, as well as those promotions for your new books or book launches, or your news.
  • Second Monday: Sophie Dawson

  • Tuesdays – Promotion in Motion

  • Wednesdays: Life of a Writer – April & Positivity – Lisa Lickel

  • Thursdays – Luther’s on board

  • Fridays – Revolutionary Faith, Devotions by Elaine

  • Saturdays – Janet Perez Eckles

  • Sunday – Reflections Book Reviews

  • Blog Authors

  • The Barn Door

  • The Barn Door Book Loft. Free Books! Book Giveaways.

  • John 3:16 Marketing Network widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)>

God Knows You’re Working Hard

Posted by Luther D. Powell on September 20, 2012

I won’t complain, but I’ve been working pretty stinkin’ hard lately. These high-level art classes have been running me ragged. I mean, really I’ve been running myself ragged, but one does not simply make EASY artwork in advanced courses. I make work that I enjoy, but that doesn’t make it any easier.

The cool thing is, if you’re doing what you’re doing to glorify God and His Word, not just to earn yourself a grade or paycheck, God will always help you through it. I felt inspired to tell a story about this past week involving such a scenario.

I had the first critique in my highest level drawing course this past Monday, and I had planned to finish two large pieces for said crit. Now, I’ll confess that it is hilariously easy for me to procrastinate on these types of projects, but in truth, I DID NOT PROCRASTINATE this time. I started the drawings as early as possible. Took photographs for references within the first two weeks of class and began immediately. It turns out, that didn’t matter. I was up ALL night Sunday struggling to finish these drawings and I was beginning to worry that I wouldn’t finish on time.

The nice thing about art classes is that instructors vary in toughness when it comes to completing work on time. And also, the worst thing about art classes is that instructors vary in toughness when it comes to completing work on time. Usually, it’s easy to assume that you have to finish everything you’re doing by each critique or you’ll receive a very poor grade and/or get grouched at.

With that in mind, I was so frustrated with myself by sunrise on Monday morning because I had given the project all I got. Didn’t sleep (I laid down for a little while to stretch my legs), ate bare minimum, guzzled two energy drinks, spent the previous week cooped up in my bedroom instead of hanging out with friends, and the thing still wasn’t done. I worked up until an hour before my first class of the day, all the while, praying that God would contain my instructor’s wrath when she saw that I brought unfinished work to my critique.

Still buzzing with enough caffeine to wake up Rip Van Winkle, I lugged my drawings to class. As soon as I entered the classroom, I pulled my instructor aside and let her know that the work wasn’t finished. With no expression on her face whatsoever, she told me to set up.

Critique days are interesting. If you’re not done with what is to be critiqued, it may not be a positive sort of interesting, but it is always interesting to see who’s done, what everyone did, what everyone thinks of yours, etc. They can be the easiest class periods and the hardest, because all you do is talk about each others pieces. If you’re exhausted from finishing your piece the previous night, talking and listening may be taxing on your absent mind and heavy eyelids.

The critique began. I sat, legs trembling, heart racing, sweat dripping down my back, praying in my head that when it came my time to be critiqued, that the class and my teacher would go easy on me. I worked so hard. SO hard. I would have been devastated for my instructor to give me a low grade, but I knew that technically, I deserved it because the piece wasn’t finished on time.

It was time. My instructor directed my peers to the wall where my pieces were displayed. To be honest, I don’t remember everything that was said about the drawings, because I was too busy being terrified of what would be said about the drawings. One thing I remember was how impressed my instructor was with the overall composition of the two drawings. She wasn’t concerned with the fact that they weren’t finished because the compositions really held her attention. The perspectives and positions of the figures were very unique, she said, and she asked where I got the inspiration for them. I didn’t really have an answer; my mind was blank, but I was probably smiling.

She liked the compositions! I’m like, “You’re kidding me, right? You’re staring at obviously unfinished work but you don’t care because the composition is THAT GOOD?!” For those of you unfamiliar with the concept of composition in art, it’s a huge deal. It’s not the image itself or what the image is about, but rather, how the viewer sees the image on the paper/canvas, so to speak. It was the first thing I learned about in college art courses, and the only thing that high school art classes totally didn’t teach me about.

All in all, the critique felt like a huge answer to prayer. I won’t know what my grade is until the end of the semester, but my instructor’s interest in the work tells me I’m not going to fail miserably. It felt like God was saying, “Dude, calm down, I know you’ve worked hard and I won’t let it go unnoticed, so long as it’s for me.” Not only that, but it let me know that I’m apparently pretty good at arranging drawings in a way that is eye-catching even if they’re not finished!

After class, my instructor told me not to worry about my grades so long as the pieces are complete in the end. I was in awe of God’s mercy that afternoon, and gleefully caught up on my sleep that night.

I would post a picture of the drawing(s), but they’re still not done, and they’re not exactly family-friendly (I like scary stuff, remember?). Moral of the story: your work is important to God, and He will help you pull through if you ask for the help.

In Christ,

Luther D. Powell

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,248 other followers

