Reflections In Hindsight

Grace in the Rearview Mirror…it's closer than it appears

  • Ephesians 4:29

    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. (NIV)

    **MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. For permission on reprints or reusing this material, please contact the individual authors. For sharing the actual post, please use the share buttons.

  • Blog Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 83,236 hits
  • RSS April’s Blog: A Writer’s Journey

    • Celebrating the Church Year
      by guest author, Jessica SnellThe Lord is always with us. We are never out of His presence, never hidden from His eyes.But it’s hard for us to remember that.Where He is omniscient, and never sleeps, never slumbers, we are distracted and busy and fallible. Though He is always mindful of us, it is hard for us to keep our thoughts constantly turned towards Him. […]
      noreply@blogger.com (April Gardner)
  • RSS Barn Door Book Loft

    • Featuring Critical Condition by Richard L. Mabry (Doc)
      Back Cover Blurb:It was supposed to be a quiet dinner party with her colleagues. Not the scene of a murder.But the murder of a stranger on her front lawn is only the first in a string of events that have Dr. Shannon Frasier’s life teetering on the edge of chaos: She’s unable to make the deeper commitment her boyfriend deserves. Her sister shows up at Shannon […]
    • An Interview With Texas Author Richard L. Mabry
      Welcome Doc Mabry, we are so thrilled to have you here with us today. I hope you don't mind that I used a photo of your book signing with a different book. I felt our readers need to know you have published many books.And now we want to know more about your novel Critical Condition. What can you tell us about the story behind this book? Most of my books […]
    • Interviewing Christian Author V.B. Tenery
      Welcome to the Barn Door Book Loft, Virginia. We are glad to have you here with us today.Question: Is there a story behind your book Works of Darkness?I wanted this story to show the consequences of not taking responsibility for ones actions, and the consequence of failing to do so. Question: What started you on your writing journey? I’ve always been an avid […]
  • RSS Clash of the Titles

    • Permanent Resident at the Purse Table, a COTT Feature
      “Keisha’s debut novel is a sweet reminder of the redeeming power of love, along with a dose of drama between good friends! Her characters are so relatable because they’re imperfect people who’ve made some serious mistakes—just like the rest of us!”-Michelle Stimpson,nNational Bestselling AuthorAbout the book:If you’re size six, you dance. If you’re Ava Alexa […]
    • Escape to Ireland in "Londonderry Dreaming"
       "If you need one of those “Ahh…” moments, consider taking a trip with Keith and Naomi and read Londonderry Dreaming"--Sandy Ardoin, Romance Author and BloggerAbout Londonderry Dreaming:Acclaimed New York artist, Naomi Boyd, and music therapist, Keith Wilson, loved one another five years ago, until her grandfather with his influence over Naomi sepa […]
    • Worth the Wait--A Win Worth Waiting for!
      All the best things in life are worth striving for,such as Christmas, babies, and winning at Clash of the Titles! Our latest winner is a YA novel that, according to one of our voters, is the "perfect high school drama." The readers have spoken!Hats off to you, Laura, for your smashing win!To celebrate Worth the Wait's win, the e-book will be o […]
  • RSS Little Bits Blog

    • Spring's Tease
      April is here. It's supposed to be spring. Well, it was supposed to be spring in March but not much has been in evidence. We've endured a tough COLD winter. Now the weather is supposed to warm. Crocus, tulips, daffodils and such are to be poking their heads out of the ground. For every one springlike day we have been getting four to five cold winte […]
    • Seeing The Life - Chapters 1-2
      I'm working fast and furious on my next book, Seeing The Life. My goal is to have it finished by the 15th and the release date is June 7. I truly feel God's hand in this work more than any other. The life of Jesus is well known and studied by, hopefully, all Christians. It places a huge burden on me to make sure things are correct not only in his l […]
    • Help!! I'm Being Buried 
      I've done it again. My email inboxes are overflowing. In my personal email there are 658 emails with 441 unread. In my Soph [...]
  • RSS Living Our Faith Out Loud

    • Fun new cozy by Susan Bernhardt
      The Ginseng ConspiracyBy Susan BernhardtEbook 5.95MuseItUp PublishingJanuary 2014  Amazon Barnes and Noble MuseItUp About the Book:On her way to attend a Halloween Ball, Kay Driscoll, a newcomer to town, witnesses the murder of a local professor. When the official coroner's report rules the cause of death to be accidental and the community accepts the j […]
    • Women's Expo starts next week April 17!
      Thursday, April 17, 2014, time 1-4 PM CT location www.BibleStudyExpo.comHere's a taste of what you can expect:1 PM CT - Lisa Bevere starts off our Expo with the story behind her book Girls with Swords: How to Carry Your Cross Like a Hero  1:15 CT - Dr. Jackie Roese will share the story behind Inhabit: A Study on the Holy Spirit. 1:30 CT - Kathy Howard w […]
    • Authors in Bloom - fun stuff, giveaways, tips, eReader prize drawing
      10 Days of Giveaways - Gardening Tips – Recipes - and more!Plus a GRAND PRIZE* you’ll be digging to win!What will be given away? Everything from books to swag, promotional products and more! The grand prize is a Kindle or Nook (a $200 value) and a $25 gift card worth of ebooks!!! (Winner’s choice which ereader and ebook retailer gift card.) A second prize of […]
  • RSS Nearly Brilliant

    • BOOK REVIEW: GOING ONCE BY SHARON SALA
      Nola Landry barely survives a flood in her small Louisiana town by clinging to a tree on higher ground. While hidden in its branches, she witnesses the brutal killing of three neighbors who are shot by a man in uniform in a boat. After being rescued, and losing her home, she is rescued by three FBI agents who have come to town to track a serial killer nickna […]
    • Book Release and Author Spotlight: Paula Mowrey, Legacy & Love
      Today I am featuring author Paula Mowery who has just released her first solo fiction book, Legacy and Love.Paula  is a published author, acquisitions editor, and speaker. Her first two published works were The Blessing Seer and Be The Blessing from Pelican Book Group. Both are women’s fiction, and their themes have been the topics of speaking engagements. I […]
    • Book Review: Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
      Every now and then a book comes along that will stick with you for the rest of your life. For me Unbrokenis one of them. The story is based on a true story about the life of Louis Zamperini.  Zamperini, the son poor Italian immigrants, grew up in California and was a wild child on the path to serious delinquency when his older brother Pete finally managed to […]
  • BLOG NEWS

    Thank you for your encouragement and support for the past three years. We've had fun connecting with you and hope you've found useful material here on Reflections. And here's the but... Reflections In Hindsight is closing on December 21, 2012. Elaine and Sophie and I can be found over at http://authorculture.blogspot.com; April can be found at Clash of the Titles, http://www.clashofthetitles, http://www.aprilgardner.com and watch for news for more novels from her!; Janet is ever-present on the Internet with her very special words of wisdom and grace at http://www.janetperezeckles.com, and Luther--who knows where he'll show up next, but I'd watch my back if I were you... Book Reviews are always important, so I, Lisa, will continue to offer them through my blog, as well as those promotions for your new books or book launches, or your news.
  • Second Monday: Sophie Dawson

  • Tuesdays – Promotion in Motion

  • Wednesdays: Life of a Writer – April & Positivity – Lisa Lickel

  • Thursdays – Luther’s on board

  • Fridays – Revolutionary Faith, Devotions by Elaine

  • Saturdays – Janet Perez Eckles

  • Sunday – Reflections Book Reviews

  • Blog Authors

  • The Barn Door

  • The Barn Door Book Loft. Free Books! Book Giveaways.

  • John 3:16 Marketing Network widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)>

Where were you ten years ago?

Posted by Luther D. Powell on July 19, 2012

My birthday is in a few days, and I’m going to reflect a little on my life ten years ago. People always ask, “Where do you see yourself in ten years?” and you always want to hope and have ambitions for yourself. For once, I can look way back when and think, Wow, God has taken me pretty far.

Ten years ago, I only had two classes during the school day. My class would switch between two teaches; one who taught English and ‘Social Studies’ (which I don’t remember being all that social), the other who taught Math and Science. MAN I miss the simplicity of those subjects. No Biology, no Chemistry, just SCIENCE. No Trigonometry, no Algebra, no Geometry, just MATH.

Ten years ago, nobody gave a rip about whether or not I had a job. I might have been babysitting by then, but I think I started babysitting in Junior High. Either way, I sure wasn’t trying to save money for anything!

Ten years ago, I got in the habit of drawing pictures, just to draw pictures. Up until then, I would literally draw out entire stories, picture by picture, using an entire sheet to draw a single frame of a plot. My first three drawings that had nothing to do with stories: a dragon, a werewolf, and a family of Tyrannosauruses.

Ten years ago, I decided I wanted to start writing stories instead of drawing them. The first full-length story I attempted to write was heavily-inspired by the Lord of the Rings, which was newly adapted to film. I shelved that story in high school after discovering how much I loved horror.

Ten years ago, I liked a girl. Back then, I had no other idea how to talk to the opposite sex than to speak my mind, be honest, tell her how I felt. Didn’t go so well. I once saw a boy buy her a Fruit Roll Up snack during lunch, and she was so happy she broke it up and shared it with her friends. I, being Captain Studmuscles, decided to buy her a Fruit Roll Up also, on a different day. Leaving it wrapped up, she threw it at me from across the table while her friends were putting their trays away, the disgusted look in her eyes melting my little 5th grade heart. When the bell rang, holding back tears, I passed one of my friends and casually dropped the Fruit Roll Up onto his tray.

Ten years ago, Big Wolf on Campus was the greatest TV show of all time. Look it up.

Ten years ago, I couldn’t shoot a basket in gym class if my life depended on it. But man, could I play Dodgeball.

Ten years ago, a bully on the school bus tried to break my fingers, so I bit his arm open. He never bothered me again, and I was sent to the counselor, who gave me every reason to feel like a disgrace to humanity for not getting the bus driver’s attention instead.

Ten years ago, I began questioning why I went to church, why I sang songs to this guy Jesus, why I ate little wafers and drank the grape juice. It didn’t take ten years for God to answer those questions for me.

Ten years ago, Creed was the first rock band I listened to. Between then and now, I’ve gotten into heavier and heavier music. My CD collection went from Creed, Linkin Park and Evanescence, to Demon Hunter, Impending Doom and Mortification. Those last three are Christian bands, by the way…

Ten years ago, I started drumming.

Ten years ago, I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to college. HA!

I have now sold seventeen + drawings. I’ve been in two rock bands, as well as a handful of church worship bands. I’ve had two short stories published. I’ve had a whole lotta cats, now down to one. I’ve had two girlfriends (not at the same time, obviously), both of whom are still on good terms with me. I’ve read a lot of good books, made a lot of awesome friends, got my drivers license on the first test attempt. Storms keep knocking down trees, but my house still stands. Coming up on my fourth year of college. Still have a job in food service. My bro Nick is still my bro (we met in Kindergarten, by the way).

So tell me, where has God brought you in ten years? Whether or not you believe it’s God who brought you there, you should pick out the good things, even the little good things. All those little things aided in making you who you are today, and there are more little good things yet, to make you who you’ll be in another ten years.

I had no idea how I was going to end this blog, so here’s a goofy picture of myself and my best friend. Cheers, happy summer, Batman, God bless!

In Christ,

Luther D. Powell

3 Responses to “Where were you ten years ago?”

  1. Mom said

    Big Wolf on Campus was never the best TV show and still isn’t. How come I never heard about you biting someone on the bus? Ten years ago you asked me if I was ever going to make you leave home because you wanted to stay here, and I told you the day would come when you would want to leave. Has it come yet?

  2. Ah, Mom–I adore moms who read their kid’s blogs. Bless you.
    I remember when my little brother sighed to our mom, “I’m going to live with you forever!” and the look of horror that briefly crossed her face.
    Of course, as a mom, I remember the day when our kids really did leave home…and the brief feeling of horror…
    and it’s been almost five years and we’re still alive.

  3. Ten years ago I would never have imagined that I wold be living in the UK again. How did I get here? Especially as I am dying to get back to my beautiful island paradise, Jamaica. But God had a plan and He has shown and down a lot with me and through me i the time. In fact the greatest thing is probably setting me up on my writing jaunt. This is an occupation that I can take back there with me and use for myself and help others. It’s just exciting to look back and see where how far along we’ve come using God’s journey plan.
    Good blog..

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,249 other followers

