Reflections In Hindsight

Grace in the Rearview Mirror…it's closer than it appears

  • Ephesians 4:29

    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. (NIV)

    **MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. For permission on reprints or reusing this material, please contact the individual authors. For sharing the actual post, please use the share buttons.

  • Blog Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 87,102 hits
  • RSS April’s Blog: A Writer’s Journey

    • Bricks of Savannah
      B is for Bricks of SavannahSavannah is a short 2.5-hour drive from home, but it took us five years to make it there. Five years! Unthinkable. The bricks.Savannah has been around since 1773, making it the oldest city in Georgia. History oozes from its varied buildings and twenty-four squares--most of them constructed with bricks and dusted with centuries of s […]
      noreply@blogger.com (April Gardner)
  • RSS Barn Door Book Loft

    • A Ghost's Story: Caught Between Life and Death by David Royce
      While out for a run one morning, Jake Weller suffers a critical heart attack triggering a trip to the morgue and what seems to be a near-death experience. But he’s actually dead. The problem is he doesn’t feel dead. He can still experience the world as before only he can’t be seen or heard. Coming to terms with this new reality, he meets an enigmatic—and cha […]
    • Featuring Raelee May Carpenter's Kings and Shepherds
      Back Cover BlurbAfter the death of her mother, Princess Ikia of Ha-or rebels against her adoptive father, King Emet. Her crusade against him starts simply but quickly grows dangerous when she agrees to betray him to the Emperor of the neighboring kingdom.Book Excerpt:Prologue: The King-   Hundreds of people – all who had left their shoes at the door, for She […]
    • Please Welcome Christian Author Raelee May Carpenter
      Welcome to the Barn Door Book Loft Raelee.Is there a story behind your book Kings and Shepherds? A band called Plankeye put out this song years ago called “Whisper To Me,” and one day I was listening to it for like the thousandth time when line, “I watched eternity collide to bring you to Me” hit me like a MAC truck.At that moment, I saw my place in the univ […]
  • RSS Clash of the Titles

    • ANNOUNCING THE LAUREL FINALISTS!
      The entries have been read and the scores have been tallied. Our unique panel of judges, comprised strictly of readers, has determined our three finalists. And they are…Ruth Reid's A Miracle of HopeJune Foster's Deliver UsCarole Brown's The Redemption of Caralynne HaymanCongratulations to all three!!(Of special note, this is Ruth's second […]
    • Winner of the August New Releases Clash
      Thanks to all of our participants for their wonderful submissions. Congratulations to Our Winner!   Having his younger sister at camp was a pain, but Taylor Dixon never expected the pain to go so deep. At 15, Taylor dreams of getting his driver’s license and driving racecars when he’s older. Only his younger sister, Marissa, believes in his dreams, but her […]
    • August New Releases Clash
      Clash of the Titles presents four brand new inspirational novels. One’s set in a Bible camp for tweens or the tweens in your lives. Hopes and dreams are threatened in another. In the third, a town’s in need of a miracle. Two people work to cure a deadly disease in the fourth. Which one will you read first? Browse the books, then, using the voting box below, […]
  • RSS Little Bits Blog

    • 12 Reasons to Live in a Small Town
      Living in small towns has special challenges and delights. When I say ‘small’ I mean ‘small’. The town I live near has approximately 250 people. The county seat has 3600 and the county has about 16,000. So this is rural America. You might think this county was in the western states where the population is lower and space is not a problem. No, I live in Illin […]
    • A Slave Of God
      I am a slave of Yaweh. We shy away from the concept, and understandably so, given the history of slavery here is the US.  I am one, however, and proud to declare it. As a believer in Christ, I have been paid for by Yeshua through his death and resurrection.  Thus, he owns me and I am his slave. Paul, Timothy and James, the brother of Christ, all claimed it. […]
    • What Is Your Ambition?
      Often people will wonder what God's will for their life is. Paul told us in 1 Thess. 4:11 and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and attend to your own business and work with your hands, just as we commanded you.We make it so complicated. It's simple really. Keep your life simple. Keep your nose out of others business (translation; don […]
  • RSS Living Our Faith Out Loud

    • Blog hop! Meet Matthew LaCraft, The Yankee Boy
      Thanks for Brenda Hendricks, and her post at http://myquotesofencouragement.com/ last week about her tween novel Trouble at Camp Turnabout CreekShe asks me the following questions about our project, First Children of Farmington, and The Yankee Boy,Matthew LaCraft.1) What is the name of your character? Is he/she fictional or historic? My character is named Ma […]
    • Equanimity: The Spirit Within by Samuel D. Bartoli
      Equanimity: The Spirit Within by Samuel D. BartoliMemoir, Self-helpHalo Publishing International  January 2014 Buy on Amazonand Barnes & Noble.About the Book:Equanimity: The Spirit Within is a story about a man’s search for meaning as he comes to terms with losing everything that he knew and valued. After winning the 1992 Southern California Middleweight […]
    • Girls Night Out Mingle with the Authors Nov 20 in West Bend
      That's right!All kinds of give-aways...door prizesWine-tastingcheeseflavored olive oil dipsromance books!All In BooksGIRLS NIGHT OUT!!! at All In Books 910 S. Main Street West BendMINGLE WITH THE AUTHORS Lisa Lickel and Nicolette PierceThursday November 20th After Hours: 6:30 PM $15 a person Tickets available at All In Books or pay button below - no Pay […]
  • RSS Nearly Brilliant

    • Author Interview on Book Goodies
      Book Goodies just notified me that my author interview with them is now live on their site.Here's the link on book goodies if you're interested. I notified them that my newly released second edition of The Treasure Seeker: The Quest to Find God, Faith, and Spiritual Intimacy is now available in Kindle format (just .99 right now) and paperback. Here […]
    • BOOK REVIEW: UNDERTOW BY DESMOND CORY
      This is my first introduction to Desmond Cory and his British Intelligence man Johnny Fedora. Cory is known for these spy novels among other written works. The first Fedora novel made its debut in 1951  and the character actually predates the first James Bond book by about three years I believe. I have never read a James Bond novel but have watched the movie […]
    • BOOK REVIEW: MY TEMPORARY LIFE BY MARTIN CROSBIE
      A sensitive coming of age story of Malcom Wilson who is shuttled between divorced parents. He lives part of his time in Canada with his promiscuous mother and the other half in Scotland with his hard working, tough father.Along the way Wilson learns how to survive and make the best of his situation no matter how hard and also what it means to experience kind […]
  • BLOG NEWS

    Thank you for your encouragement and support for the past three years. We've had fun connecting with you and hope you've found useful material here on Reflections. And here's the but... Reflections In Hindsight is closing on December 21, 2012. Elaine and Sophie and I can be found over at http://authorculture.blogspot.com; April can be found at Clash of the Titles, http://www.clashofthetitles, http://www.aprilgardner.com and watch for news for more novels from her!; Janet is ever-present on the Internet with her very special words of wisdom and grace at http://www.janetperezeckles.com, and Luther--who knows where he'll show up next, but I'd watch my back if I were you... Book Reviews are always important, so I, Lisa, will continue to offer them through my blog, as well as those promotions for your new books or book launches, or your news.
  • Second Monday: Sophie Dawson

  • Tuesdays – Promotion in Motion

  • Wednesdays: Life of a Writer – April & Positivity – Lisa Lickel

  • Thursdays – Luther’s on board

  • Fridays – Revolutionary Faith, Devotions by Elaine

  • Saturdays – Janet Perez Eckles

  • Sunday – Reflections Book Reviews

  • Blog Authors

  • The Barn Door

  • The Barn Door Book Loft. Free Books! Book Giveaways.

  • John 3:16 Marketing Network widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)>

Platform Get Noticed in a Noisy World

Posted by April W Gardner on June 27, 2012

Michael Hyatt, one of the top business bloggers in the world, provides down-to-earth guidance for building and expanding a powerful platform.

To be successful in the market today, you must possess two strategic assets: a compelling product and a meaningful platform. In this step-by-step guide, Michael Hyatt, former CEO and current Chairman of Thomas Nelson Publishers, takes readers behind the scenes, into the new world of social media success. He shows you what best-selling authors, public speakers, entrepreneurs, musicians, and other creatives are doing differently to win customers in today’s crowded marketplace. Hyatt speaks from experience. He writes one of the top 800 blogs in the world and has more than 100,000 followers on Twitter. His large and growing platform serves as the foundation for his successful writing, speaking, and consulting practice.

In Platform, Hyatt will teach readers not only how to extend their influence, but also how to monetize it and build a sustainable career. The key? By building a platform. It has never been easier, less expensive, or more possible than right now. . .  The book includes:

  • proven strategies
  • easy-to-replicate formulas
  • practical tips

Social media technologies have changed everything. Now, for the first time in history, non-celebrities can get noticed-and win big!-in an increasingly noisy world.

MY THOUGHTS

Michael Hyatt not only knows the ins and outs of building and maintaining a platform, he also knows how to write a book. The chapters are short, clear, and easy to digest. The bullet point system is right up my alley! He must have known I learn best when subject matter is broken down into bit-sized chunks. Thanks for that, Michael. You’re a pal.

As far as the subject matter itself…Well, let’s just say I’ve never dog-eared a book so much. The thing is practically barking at me. It’s saying “I’m wisdom itself! Use me, use me!”

Every dog-ear is a page that has content I plan to address. Here are just few examples of things I need to work on.

  • Get your plans out of your head and onto paper (pg 39)
  • Craft a good elevator pitch. (pg. 43) Yes, I’ve done these before, but he has a way of describing how to do it, that just makes so much sense to me that I want to re-write the ones I have.
  • Five basic personal branding tools you should take advantage of before you move on to more complex ones. (pgs 46-47) 1. e-mail address  2. email signature 3. business cards 4. Website 5. social medial profiles. I have all these too, but I’m not taking full advantage of any of them, and I plan to remedy that.
  • Get lots of endorsements. (pg 53) Already working on this one!
  • Get a great headshot (pg. 56) Got this one dog-eared because my headshot is old and not accurate. I’ve lost almost 20 pounds since the last shoot, and at my last signing actually had two random strangers at different times tell me I needed to update it. Yikes!
  • Fine tune your blog (pg 100). He lists blogging musts and blogging mistakes. Those chapters are too marked up and highlighted for me to mention here and still retain my dignity. You’d think that after seven years of blogging I would have figured some of this stuff out on my own. Nope. BUT I now feel like I understand why I’ve struggled so much to get off my feet.
  • Open pathways of communication with your “tribe” (aka fans) (pg. 129) You to tribe member. Tribe member to you. Tribe member to tribe member. Tribe member to outsiders.

(How do you like my bullet points?)

This is just scratching the surface, and I left all the good stuff for you to discover on your own. If there’s any ONE marketing book you can afford this year, Platform by Michael Hyatt is the one it should be. I just found out that he’s going to be the keynote speaker at the ACFW Conference in September and I CANNOT wait to hear what other nuggets of wisdom I can glean from him!

So here I am doing exactly what he intended, and what he says a properly developed platform will do. He wrote what he’s passionate about, and gave me something I needed. Because his passion is contagious,and because I feel a need was met (and am therefore grateful), I’m now a tribe member who is so devoted, I’m advertising for him. And enjoying doing it! THAT’S the basic concept of the book.

It works for him! If it works for me, I’ll let you know. Or better yet, one of my devout tribe members will. ;-)

 –April W Gardner is a mutli-published, award-winning author

and the senior editor of the literary contest site, Clash of the Titles.

2 Responses to “Platform Get Noticed in a Noisy World”

  1. Grace Winn said

    Sounds like you really enjoyed this book! Hope it helps you be great! I already know you are. Now we need to let others know this too!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,246 other followers

