Reflections In Hindsight

Grace in the Rearview Mirror…it's closer than it appears

  • Ephesians 4:29

    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. (NIV)

    **MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. For permission on reprints or reusing this material, please contact the individual authors. For sharing the actual post, please use the share buttons.

  • Blog Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 86,631 hits
  • RSS April’s Blog: A Writer’s Journey

    • Cinema Saturday-- The 41 Most Unexpected Cat Jumps of All Time
      Why do jumping cats freak us out so much? And why do we laugh so hard at people who are freaking out?I'm one of those awkward laughers--someone who laughs at inappropriate times, such as when my husband does the splits on an icy sidewalk or when my child runs smack-dab into a doorpost. Unfortunately, compassion is not my go-to emotion. I do eventually f […]
      noreply@blogger.com (April Gardner)
  • RSS Barn Door Book Loft

    • Welcome Back to Lillian Duncan
      Tell us about REDEMPTION.It’s the third and final book in my Sisters by Choice series. Well, probably last. I do have an idea for a fourth book rattling around in my brain, but it’s only an idea at the moment. Who knows if it will actually grow into a book?Redemption brings the series full circle and gives closure for those who’ve read all three books. Jamie […]
    • Redemption by Lillian Duncan
      Others may think Jamie Jakowski is a hero, but she knows differently. Haunted by her past, she seeks redemption by helping others in spite of the danger to herself. However, after almost orphaning her daughter, Jamie opts to retire. When a friend needs her, Jamie agrees to one last undercover operation. She is determined to reunite a heartbroken mother with […]
    • A Warm Welcome to Virginia Tenery
      So nice to have Virginia Tenery visiting today! Read on to find out about her writing journey!What started you on your writing journey?VB: I’ve always been an avid reader of suspense novels and I found what was available in the ABA market too violent for my tastes. I decided that writing looked easy, and I would write the kind of books I liked to read. Wrong […]
  • RSS Clash of the Titles

    • August New Releases Clash
      Clash of the Titles presents four brand new inspirational novels. One’s set in a Bible camp for tweens or the tweens in your lives. Hopes and dreams are threatened in another. In the third, a town’s in need of a miracle. Two people work to cure a deadly disease in the fourth. Which one will you read first? Browse the books, then, using the voting box below, […]
    • Birthday Goodies Go To...
      ...var cpo = []; cpo["_object"] ="cp_widget_8777b1b5-38a5-4007-b2e6-6d85a0415b93"; cpo["_fid"] = "AQDAx8rmo4Jx"; var _cpmp = _cpmp || []; _cpmp.push(cpo); (function() { var cp = document.createElement("script"); cp.type = "text/javascript"; cp.async = true; cp.src = "//www.cincopa.com/media-pla […]
    • Birthday Bash Giveaway, Day 4!
      ...var cpo = []; cpo["_object"] ="cp_widget_8777b1b5-38a5-4007-b2e6-6d85a0415b93"; cpo["_fid"] = "AQDAx8rmo4Jx"; var _cpmp = _cpmp || []; _cpmp.push(cpo); (function() { var cp = document.createElement("script"); cp.type = "text/javascript"; cp.async = true; cp.src = "//www.cincopa.com/media-pla […]
  • RSS Little Bits Blog

    • What Is Your Ambition?
      Often people will wonder what God's will for their life is. Paul told us in 1 Thess. 4:11 and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and attend to your own business and work with your hands, just as we commanded you.We make it so complicated. It's simple really. Keep your life simple. Keep your nose out of others business (translation; don […]
    • Something Special This Way Comes
      Summer is over. Time to get back to writing and creating. Now is the time for me to develop new and exciting (hopefully) aspects to my live as an author. So... the new things I am adding are Sophie's Special Emails and Christian Author Interviews Podcast. Sophie's Special Emails - This will be a newsletter that goes out about once every two weeks. […]
    • A Lifetime of Sewing
      I learned to sew at the age of eight. We went on a three week vacation to Connecticut to visit family. Along the way we traveled to different sites. I remember Niagara Falls and Sault Ste. Marie as well as my aunt, uncle, and cousins but that's about it. We traveled in a green station wagon. Mom, Dad, me, my sister, Cheryl, and brother Dave. She was 10 […]
  • RSS Living Our Faith Out Loud

    • The Right Ingredients by Nancy Shew Bolton
      The Right Ingredients by Nancy Shew BoltonMissing the right ingredients for a life of joy, a young baker learns lessons in the true recipe for love. About the Book:Ann’s hectic work responsibilities demand all her time and effort, and what was once a useful, satisfactory life has become a burden. Her bakery partner Susan has lost none of her enthusiasm for t […]
    • CrossReads Book Blast with Michelle Word Hollis
      It's in the House: Lessons from a Widow Woman - Getting What You Need & More!By Michelle Word HollisAbout the Book:In this book you will discover the powerful lessons, from the Biblical story of the Widow's Oil, that will help you overcome any difficulty you are currently facing. You will learn easy to implement strategies that will cause posit […]
    • Book Review: Trevelyan by Naomi Musch
      TrevelyanNaomi Musch      Publisher: Desert Breeze Publishing, Inc. (May 21, 2014)     ASIN: B00KI26HKW4.99, 10.95 printBuy on AmazonFrom the publisher: Five men and two Elven princes have embarked upon a quest: to save a sister from the wasteland of the Great Winter where she is held in the clutches of a Monster Lord who all believe brought desecration and […]
  • RSS Nearly Brilliant

    • Book Giveaway: Success is Your Birthright by R Stanton Tucker
      We are offering a book giveaway for one print copy of R. Stanton Tucker's new book, Success is Your Birthright.  To enter, leave a comment with you email at the end of this blog post stating why you would like to win this book. Drawing ends October 10th. Book Blurb:  Life resembles a roller coaster. It has suspense, intrigue, smooth moments, hairpin tur […]
    • Book Review: The Newspaper Code by Lisa Lickel
      A part of the Buried Treasure Series, in this book we join school teacher Judy Wingate settling into motherhood following the birth of her new baby. When Esme an older lady who was a member of the local garden club turns up dead with a garden claw in the middle of her forehead at the base of a statue in the center of town, Judy is determined to find out more […]
    • Book Launch : Lake Surrender Book Launch by Carol Stratton
      Carol Stratton is proud to announce her first novel, Lake Surrender.The story is about a career editor who loses her marriage, house and job. As a single parent of a precocious pre-teen and an autistic son, she’s forced to find a more inexpensive place to live than the San Francisco Bay Area. She ends up in Northern Michigan working as a cook at a dilapidate […]
  • BLOG NEWS

    Thank you for your encouragement and support for the past three years. We've had fun connecting with you and hope you've found useful material here on Reflections. And here's the but... Reflections In Hindsight is closing on December 21, 2012. Elaine and Sophie and I can be found over at http://authorculture.blogspot.com; April can be found at Clash of the Titles, http://www.clashofthetitles, http://www.aprilgardner.com and watch for news for more novels from her!; Janet is ever-present on the Internet with her very special words of wisdom and grace at http://www.janetperezeckles.com, and Luther--who knows where he'll show up next, but I'd watch my back if I were you... Book Reviews are always important, so I, Lisa, will continue to offer them through my blog, as well as those promotions for your new books or book launches, or your news.
  • Second Monday: Sophie Dawson

  • Tuesdays – Promotion in Motion

  • Wednesdays: Life of a Writer – April & Positivity – Lisa Lickel

  • Thursdays – Luther’s on board

  • Fridays – Revolutionary Faith, Devotions by Elaine

  • Saturdays – Janet Perez Eckles

  • Sunday – Reflections Book Reviews

  • Blog Authors

  • The Barn Door

  • The Barn Door Book Loft. Free Books! Book Giveaways.

  • John 3:16 Marketing Network widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)>

Blogging is the Devil

Posted by Ben Erlichman on February 9, 2012

Why do people blog? What makes them think that anyone else  in the world wants to know about the new recipe for mongoose flambe they just created? Who actually reads blogs?

I’ve been pushing myself for the last year or so to blog once a week here at Reflections (occasionally I’ve missed a few weeks, but hey, one of them was on Thanksgiving, so there). In that time I’ve learned that, for me, blogging is the devil.

See? I told you it was.

What I mean is that like the devil, blogging distracts me from what I should be doing. Also, I hate the devil. likewise, I’ve grown to hate blogging. I have never enjoyed reading blogs, and I’ve always felt like I was supposed to blog as a part of my life as a writer because that’s what I’ve been told I’m supposed to do.

I mentioned in an earlier post that I’m attempting to write four novels this year. Correction: four GOOD novels this year, not just some garbage books that I don’t care about. In my mind, each word that I write on a Thursday morning (or before if I’m really prepared) is another word that won’t get written in one of my books because I’ve written it here. I’m not okay with that.

Perhaps this springs from my lack of interest in blogging as a medium of communication. The only time I read blogs is when a friend asks me to, or when I see something on Facebook that’s of interest to me and it happens to link to a blog post. I don’t go out trolling the internet for blogs. That’s not my idea of entertainment. I don’t enjoy that. The closest I come to that is Cracked.com, a site that I visit regularly because it’s funny and informational (but not always appropriate–you’ve been warned). That’s not really a blog sight, though.

Randy Ingermanson has sent out a lot of good stuff in his Advanced Fiction newsletters since I’ve been a subscriber (and probably before that too). In his last one he suggested that an author should ascribe a value to every business-related thing he does, as follows: $1 work, $10 work, $100 work, $1,000 work. The dollar amounts represent how much money you make from the various tasks you perform.

For instance, I run Splickety Magazine, which takes up a lot of my time. At this point I’m not privy to how much I’ll make from that rag, but I’m imagining it will be in the high $10s or the low $100s. I anticipate it will go up over time as I’ll get better at producing it as time goes on, plus I’ll hopefully make some money by selling some advertising for it. Compare that with my novel-writing: that’s definitely $1,000 work. Sure, it hasn’t actually made me any money thus far, but once I do get published, then I’m confident I’ll be in the $1,000 range.

This formula pertains more to marketing in my case than anything else. The idea is to focus either on A) what I’m good at/enjoy or B) what makes me the most money. I’m good at writing books, I’m good at running Splickety, and I’m good at Facebooking, plus I usually enjoy those things most of the time. I’m kind of good at blogging–of the top five most-viewed posts here at Reflections, four are mine (not including the Author page or the site’s homepage)–but I don’t like it. As of right now, it hasn’t made me any money that I can see, so it falls into the $1 work category. I think you can see where this is going.

I’m going to stop blogging. Over the next few weeks you won’t see me around here much anymore, and then eventually I’ll be gone, with perhaps an occasional guest appearance here and there. I just can’t justify the time I spend blogging anymore. I’ve already spent too much time on this one as it is to make it a decent post.

As such, I need to find a replacement. If you or anyone else is interested, comment on this post and the rest of the Reflections staff/administration will consider contacting you about it. Don’t get me wrong–I’ve benefited from this experience in ways that aren’t as tangible or measurable as money. I’ve made new friends and connections, I’ve learned to be more concise in my thoughts when blogging, and I’ve grown as a writer and as a person, but it’s time for me to move on.

This isn’t my last post here, but it’ll be one of the last. I’ll see you around, okay?

-Ben

10 Responses to “Blogging is the Devil”

  1. Ruth Mills said

    I quit blogging after two weeks because the time it took me to develop anything informative I personally cared about (I am a research queen) took me an entire 8 hours to research and then write. I lost six days of my life over those two weeks and I won’t be going back. The only reason I clicked on this was because the title caught my eye and just so happened to link to a blog :) Also, Cracked rocks.

    • Ben Erlichman said

      Ruth, that’s nuts. I can’t imagine researching that long for my blogs…but kudos to you for doing it and then realizing that it was a bad move. I’ll be much happier when I’m blog-free, like you.

  2. Everything depends on why you blog. I began blogging when my first action-adventure / mystery for kids was about to be released. Today, that blog http://booksandboys.blogspot.com is number 1 on Google when searching for books for boys. This would never have happened if I hadn’t been consistent in blogging and if no one were interested in books like the ones I write. It’s all about your message and a potential audience for it.

    • Ben Erlichman said

      That’s a good thing. Blogging is working for you, but it’s not for me, at least not now. It takes up too much of my time and energy, and it isn’t what I want to be doing, so I won’t be doing it anymore. Glad it’s working for you. Keep up your good work.

  3. You might try looking at your stats, Ben, if you want a hug. You have consistently the highest rating.
    That said, you know this was only a site to let you get your feet wet and develop your platform, introduce readers to you and vice versa. You were supposed to work on blogging, get used to it, then leave and blog on your own, or drop it. So far, you’re my first real “graduate”; never mind that you tried it for a long time, did well, and choose to try other marketing methods that suit your schedule and personality and fan base. That’s good! Really. I’ve enjoyed getting to know you and your family and I know you’ll keep in touch. Especially if you want that ride to Ohio. :)

    And honestly, I still bust a gut laughing at the squirrel obit.

    • Ben Erlichman said

      I enjoyed the squirrel obit as well. I may have to use that somewhere down the line. :) I appreciate your help and guidance, Lisa, and it has been a nice ride. Yes, we will stay in touch, and we probably will carpool to Ohio if I can get the time to go. Should be fun.

  4. Ben, you’ll be missed. For the record, I enjoyed my time here at Reflections very much. I started a blog on my website but haven’t found the time to add anything other than a short “Busy, but I’ll write something soon!” and that was back in October. Not enough hours in the day when I also work a full-time job outside the home. Write your books. I’ll look forward to reading them. Blessings to you.

  5. I completely understand your frustration and decision. I actually love writing blog posts, but hate the act of blogging (which is why my sister now does it for me – she’d like to get paid to do it for others, so she’s gaining experience and I only do the fun part).

    Your words will genuinely be missed – best of luck to you!

  6. Thanks so much for posting what many of us were afraid to admit. I loathe blogging with every fiber of my being. I should probably close the blogs I have languishing out there proving to the world that I don’t have the passion for it. I post twice a month on a group blog, Writersrest, and I dread doing that. If it works for you and you enjoy it, go nuts. If not…life’s too short. Move on. All the best in your future endeavors.

    • Ben Erlichman said

      There’s not a lot that I fear admitting, Teresa. Happy to do it. I sympathize with you and I’m glad you’re addressing this issue in your own life. Thanks for commenting.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,247 other followers

