Reflections In Hindsight

Grace in the Rearview Mirror…it's closer than it appears

  • Ephesians 4:29

    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. (NIV)

    **MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. For permission on reprints or reusing this material, please contact the individual authors. For sharing the actual post, please use the share buttons.

  • Blog Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 87,100 hits
  • RSS April’s Blog: A Writer’s Journey

    • Bricks of Savannah
      B is for Bricks of SavannahSavannah is a short 2.5-hour drive from home, but it took us five years to make it there. Five years! Unthinkable. The bricks.Savannah has been around since 1773, making it the oldest city in Georgia. History oozes from its varied buildings and twenty-four squares--most of them constructed with bricks and dusted with centuries of s […]
      noreply@blogger.com (April Gardner)
  • RSS Barn Door Book Loft

    • A Ghost's Story: Caught Between Life and Death by David Royce
      While out for a run one morning, Jake Weller suffers a critical heart attack triggering a trip to the morgue and what seems to be a near-death experience. But he’s actually dead. The problem is he doesn’t feel dead. He can still experience the world as before only he can’t be seen or heard. Coming to terms with this new reality, he meets an enigmatic—and cha […]
    • Featuring Raelee May Carpenter's Kings and Shepherds
      Back Cover BlurbAfter the death of her mother, Princess Ikia of Ha-or rebels against her adoptive father, King Emet. Her crusade against him starts simply but quickly grows dangerous when she agrees to betray him to the Emperor of the neighboring kingdom.Book Excerpt:Prologue: The King-   Hundreds of people – all who had left their shoes at the door, for She […]
    • Please Welcome Christian Author Raelee May Carpenter
      Welcome to the Barn Door Book Loft Raelee.Is there a story behind your book Kings and Shepherds? A band called Plankeye put out this song years ago called “Whisper To Me,” and one day I was listening to it for like the thousandth time when line, “I watched eternity collide to bring you to Me” hit me like a MAC truck.At that moment, I saw my place in the univ […]
  • RSS Clash of the Titles

    • ANNOUNCING THE LAUREL FINALISTS!
      The entries have been read and the scores have been tallied. Our unique panel of judges, comprised strictly of readers, has determined our three finalists. And they are…Ruth Reid's A Miracle of HopeJune Foster's Deliver UsCarole Brown's The Redemption of Caralynne HaymanCongratulations to all three!!(Of special note, this is Ruth's second […]
    • Winner of the August New Releases Clash
      Thanks to all of our participants for their wonderful submissions. Congratulations to Our Winner!   Having his younger sister at camp was a pain, but Taylor Dixon never expected the pain to go so deep. At 15, Taylor dreams of getting his driver’s license and driving racecars when he’s older. Only his younger sister, Marissa, believes in his dreams, but her […]
    • August New Releases Clash
      Clash of the Titles presents four brand new inspirational novels. One’s set in a Bible camp for tweens or the tweens in your lives. Hopes and dreams are threatened in another. In the third, a town’s in need of a miracle. Two people work to cure a deadly disease in the fourth. Which one will you read first? Browse the books, then, using the voting box below, […]
  • RSS Little Bits Blog

    • 12 Reasons to Live in a Small Town
      Living in small towns has special challenges and delights. When I say ‘small’ I mean ‘small’. The town I live near has approximately 250 people. The county seat has 3600 and the county has about 16,000. So this is rural America. You might think this county was in the western states where the population is lower and space is not a problem. No, I live in Illin […]
    • A Slave Of God
      I am a slave of Yaweh. We shy away from the concept, and understandably so, given the history of slavery here is the US.  I am one, however, and proud to declare it. As a believer in Christ, I have been paid for by Yeshua through his death and resurrection.  Thus, he owns me and I am his slave. Paul, Timothy and James, the brother of Christ, all claimed it. […]
    • What Is Your Ambition?
      Often people will wonder what God's will for their life is. Paul told us in 1 Thess. 4:11 and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and attend to your own business and work with your hands, just as we commanded you.We make it so complicated. It's simple really. Keep your life simple. Keep your nose out of others business (translation; don […]
  • RSS Living Our Faith Out Loud

    • Equanimity: The Spirit Within by Samuel D. Bartoli
      Equanimity: The Spirit Within by Samuel D. BartoliMemoir, Self-helpHalo Publishing International  January 2014 Buy on Amazonand Barnes & Noble.About the Book:Equanimity: The Spirit Within is a story about a man’s search for meaning as he comes to terms with losing everything that he knew and valued. After winning the 1992 Southern California Middleweight […]
    • Girls Night Out Mingle with the Authors Nov 20 in West Bend
      That's right!All kinds of give-aways...door prizesWine-tastingcheeseflavored olive oil dipsromance books!All In BooksGIRLS NIGHT OUT!!! at All In Books 910 S. Main Street West BendMINGLE WITH THE AUTHORS Lisa Lickel and Nicolette PierceThursday November 20th After Hours: 6:30 PM $15 a person Tickets available at All In Books or pay button below - no Pay […]
    • Book Review Gabriel by Jayna Morrow
      Gabriel Jayna Morrowc. 2014Prism Book GroupISBN: 978-1940099453Price 3.9911.99buy on Amazonbuy on Barnes and NobleTexas RomanceGabriel Hearth, the title character, has some serious relationship troubles. From the opening scene of being left at the altar to the realization that this is not his first failed attempt at romance, the reader is carried along on a […]
  • RSS Nearly Brilliant

    • Author Interview on Book Goodies
      Book Goodies just notified me that my author interview with them is now live on their site.Here's the link on book goodies if you're interested. I notified them that my newly released second edition of The Treasure Seeker: The Quest to Find God, Faith, and Spiritual Intimacy is now available in Kindle format (just .99 right now) and paperback. Here […]
    • BOOK REVIEW: UNDERTOW BY DESMOND CORY
      This is my first introduction to Desmond Cory and his British Intelligence man Johnny Fedora. Cory is known for these spy novels among other written works. The first Fedora novel made its debut in 1951  and the character actually predates the first James Bond book by about three years I believe. I have never read a James Bond novel but have watched the movie […]
    • BOOK REVIEW: MY TEMPORARY LIFE BY MARTIN CROSBIE
      A sensitive coming of age story of Malcom Wilson who is shuttled between divorced parents. He lives part of his time in Canada with his promiscuous mother and the other half in Scotland with his hard working, tough father.Along the way Wilson learns how to survive and make the best of his situation no matter how hard and also what it means to experience kind […]
  • BLOG NEWS

    Thank you for your encouragement and support for the past three years. We've had fun connecting with you and hope you've found useful material here on Reflections. And here's the but... Reflections In Hindsight is closing on December 21, 2012. Elaine and Sophie and I can be found over at http://authorculture.blogspot.com; April can be found at Clash of the Titles, http://www.clashofthetitles, http://www.aprilgardner.com and watch for news for more novels from her!; Janet is ever-present on the Internet with her very special words of wisdom and grace at http://www.janetperezeckles.com, and Luther--who knows where he'll show up next, but I'd watch my back if I were you... Book Reviews are always important, so I, Lisa, will continue to offer them through my blog, as well as those promotions for your new books or book launches, or your news.
  • Second Monday: Sophie Dawson

  • Tuesdays – Promotion in Motion

  • Wednesdays: Life of a Writer – April & Positivity – Lisa Lickel

  • Thursdays – Luther’s on board

  • Fridays – Revolutionary Faith, Devotions by Elaine

  • Saturdays – Janet Perez Eckles

  • Sunday – Reflections Book Reviews

  • Blog Authors

  • The Barn Door

  • The Barn Door Book Loft. Free Books! Book Giveaways.

  • John 3:16 Marketing Network widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)>

Fighting Fear: Winning the War at Home

Posted by Lisa Lickel on November 22, 2011

Saying good bye to a loved one leaving for war is a gut-wrenching proposition. But for those left behind, their deployment marks the beginning of our battle. And yet, it is possible to find God’s peace in the midst of fear and conquer the terror that lurks in the darkness of doubt. In Fighting Fear: Winning the War at Home, parents, spouses and siblings recount their personal journey as God goes before His people during times of spiritual, physical and military warfare. Learn the secret to living a peace-filled life when a loved one leaves for battle. Fight fear; win the war at home.

Buy the book on Amazon here.

An interview with two contributors to Fighting Fear: Winning the War at Home, April Gardner and Elaine Marie Cooper.

1. Tell us about how you got involved in this project and what you hope will result.

April: It was actually Elaine that alerted me to the project. I knew instantly that I needed to do my part, in this amazing book. Deployments are a regular part of my life. I’ve been there many times, and will be there again. Besides the Lord, it’s been the support of understanding friends that’s gotten me through. That’s what this devotional is–friends reaching out to touch the lives of those who are lonely, fearful, and in need.

Elaine: I got involved in this project when I saw a posting on a blog that Edie Melson was looking for contributions to a devotional for families who had a loved one at war—any war. Edie wanted first person accounts that emphasized various aspects of dealing with the real-life difficulties of having a loved one on deployment and how, as Christians, our faith was able to sustain us. Since my own son had been deployed twice, I was able to draw on the personal angst of a Mom who knows her son is in danger, yet trusting that the God Who created him would be his shelter in war. What I hoped to impart was my own real life scenario: already dealing with the loss of my daughter to cancer, limited support of my family members, and struggling to maintain faith amidst my own battles on the home front. I hope that by sharing my own moments of both fear and faith, I can help others walking in my shoes.

2. Can you share a little summary of your contribution to the book?

April: When I heard about the project, my husband was in the middle of an eight month deployment in Baghdad. I knew instantly I needed to be a part of Fighting Fear, but it took months for the Lord to guide me in exactly what to write. It was over the holidays at a small town post office that God used an elderly woman and her generosity to sooth my ache. Needing to be a constant pillar of strength for my kids, I didn’t know how scared and lonely I was until that kind stranger gave me permission to cry. God’s strength and comfort comes in many forms and it’s those forms this book addresses.

Elaine: I couldn’t believe the title of my son’s e-mail: “In the Sandbox.”

My breathing quickened as I clicked to open it. There were the words that made my heart lurch and my soul cry out. My son was actually in Iraq on the ground.

He’s supposed to be in the Persian Gulf on his aircraft carrier, I thought. Tears were pouring down my cheeks. Why is he there, on the ground?

My son Ben explained in his note that he had been flown into the country from “the boat” to help coordinate flying missions. It was an honor and spoke highly of his character and leadership ability.

But that’s my son, I cried out to God. This isn’t fair.

I remembered telling my children for years that life was not always fair. Never had it seemed more unfair than three years prior to Ben’s deployment, when my only daughter was taken from us, the victim of a brain tumor. Before she had been diagnosed with this devastating cancer, the horror of 9-11 had occurred, prompting Ben to join the Navy and defend our nation. So while my husband and I fought our daughter’s cancer battle at home, Ben was sent to Florida to train to go to war in the Middle East. In May of 2006 he left for Iraq.

3. What was it like to write about this experience?

April: It was tough! But good for me. Writing it freshened the experience and its encouragement. It reminded me of God’s sovereignty and love.

Elaine: Writing about my experience was heartbreaking. Even now reading it, the tears begin to flow. I don’t know that the passage of time ever removes the deep, painful times from a mother’s heart. And knowing that in 2012 he could be deployed again only adds to the distress. Yet the God Who watched over my son in 2006 is still watching over him today—and tomorrow as well.

4. Have you connected with others and/or learned something in the process of this project?

April: I’ve been amazed at how eager and desperate people are for encouragement during deployments. Not only family members but friends, as well, who want to do something to help. Many have already told me they can’t wait for the release so they can buy the book for someone in need.

Elaine: Other than April and Edie, I have not connected with any of the other contributors as yet. I want to read the whole compilation of stories before reaching out to the others on a more personal basis as we share our struggles as fellow fighters of fear.

5. Anything else? Thanks for the opportunity to share about this much needed book. The war in the Middle East is now the longest war in American history. Our troops are weary. Their families are falling apart. Fighting Fear couldn’t have come at a better time.

What some are saying about the book:

Only those who’ve sent a loved one off to war can truly understand the fear, confusion, and battle that take place on the home front. In Fighting Fear: Winning the War at Home When Your Soldier Leaves for Battle, author Edie Melson poignantly paints a picture of the internal war between fear and peace, weakness and strength, doubt and faith. With devotions from Edie’s own experiences, as well as contributions from others who’ve walked similar paths, this book is a must-read for every loved one left behind…holding down the fort at home.

Vonda Skelton, Speaker and author of Seeing Through the Lies: Unmasking the Myths Women Believe

 

As a combat veteran and now minister, I was captivated by the premise of this book. I can still remember the anxiety and fear that rushed through our family during my deployment. Many days, I prayed that the Spirit would comfort my wife, children, mother and friends as I
walked “through the valley of the shadow of death.” I was confident in my training, but never found the right truth from God’s Word to comfort
those who were praying for me…UNTIL NOW! Fighting Fear, Winning the War at Home is just the kind of tool that the Spirit can use to comfort those who are battling to stay strong during their own time of adversity.

Kurt Hartley, Operation Iraqi Freedom Veteran and Ordained Southern Baptist Minister

2 Responses to “Fighting Fear: Winning the War at Home”

  1. Thank you for this, Lisa. Elaine, it’s looking promising that my special man will deploy in 2012 again too. Tough times ahead. But we have an amazing God who holds us through it all.

    • Yes, we do, April. I’ll be praying for your husband as I know you’ll keep Ben in your prayers. What would we do without Him to turn to? Lisa, thank you for sharing about this important devotional.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,246 other followers

