Reflections In Hindsight

Grace in the Rearview Mirror…it's closer than it appears

  • Ephesians 4:29

    Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. (NIV)

    **MATERIAL ON THIS SITE IS COPYRIGHT PROTECTED. For permission on reprints or reusing this material, please contact the individual authors. For sharing the actual post, please use the share buttons.

  • Blog Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 86,633 hits
  • RSS April’s Blog: A Writer’s Journey

    • Cinema Saturday-- The 41 Most Unexpected Cat Jumps of All Time
      Why do jumping cats freak us out so much? And why do we laugh so hard at people who are freaking out?I'm one of those awkward laughers--someone who laughs at inappropriate times, such as when my husband does the splits on an icy sidewalk or when my child runs smack-dab into a doorpost. Unfortunately, compassion is not my go-to emotion. I do eventually f […]
      noreply@blogger.com (April Gardner)
  • RSS Barn Door Book Loft

    • Welcome Back to Lillian Duncan
      Tell us about REDEMPTION.It’s the third and final book in my Sisters by Choice series. Well, probably last. I do have an idea for a fourth book rattling around in my brain, but it’s only an idea at the moment. Who knows if it will actually grow into a book?Redemption brings the series full circle and gives closure for those who’ve read all three books. Jamie […]
    • Redemption by Lillian Duncan
      Others may think Jamie Jakowski is a hero, but she knows differently. Haunted by her past, she seeks redemption by helping others in spite of the danger to herself. However, after almost orphaning her daughter, Jamie opts to retire. When a friend needs her, Jamie agrees to one last undercover operation. She is determined to reunite a heartbroken mother with […]
    • A Warm Welcome to Virginia Tenery
      So nice to have Virginia Tenery visiting today! Read on to find out about her writing journey!What started you on your writing journey?VB: I’ve always been an avid reader of suspense novels and I found what was available in the ABA market too violent for my tastes. I decided that writing looked easy, and I would write the kind of books I liked to read. Wrong […]
  • RSS Clash of the Titles

    • August New Releases Clash
      Clash of the Titles presents four brand new inspirational novels. One’s set in a Bible camp for tweens or the tweens in your lives. Hopes and dreams are threatened in another. In the third, a town’s in need of a miracle. Two people work to cure a deadly disease in the fourth. Which one will you read first? Browse the books, then, using the voting box below, […]
    • Birthday Goodies Go To...
      ...var cpo = []; cpo["_object"] ="cp_widget_8777b1b5-38a5-4007-b2e6-6d85a0415b93"; cpo["_fid"] = "AQDAx8rmo4Jx"; var _cpmp = _cpmp || []; _cpmp.push(cpo); (function() { var cp = document.createElement("script"); cp.type = "text/javascript"; cp.async = true; cp.src = "//www.cincopa.com/media-pla […]
    • Birthday Bash Giveaway, Day 4!
      ...var cpo = []; cpo["_object"] ="cp_widget_8777b1b5-38a5-4007-b2e6-6d85a0415b93"; cpo["_fid"] = "AQDAx8rmo4Jx"; var _cpmp = _cpmp || []; _cpmp.push(cpo); (function() { var cp = document.createElement("script"); cp.type = "text/javascript"; cp.async = true; cp.src = "//www.cincopa.com/media-pla […]
  • RSS Little Bits Blog

    • A Slave Of God
      I am a slave of Yaweh. We shy away from the concept, and understandably so, given the history of slavery here is the US.  I am one, however, and proud to declare it. As a believer in Christ, I have been paid for by Yeshua through his death and resurrection.  Thus, he owns me and I am his slave. Paul, Timothy and James, the brother of Christ, all claimed it. […]
    • What Is Your Ambition?
      Often people will wonder what God's will for their life is. Paul told us in 1 Thess. 4:11 and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life and attend to your own business and work with your hands, just as we commanded you.We make it so complicated. It's simple really. Keep your life simple. Keep your nose out of others business (translation; don […]
    • Something Special This Way Comes
      Summer is over. Time to get back to writing and creating. Now is the time for me to develop new and exciting (hopefully) aspects to my live as an author. So... the new things I am adding are Sophie's Special Emails and Christian Author Interviews Podcast. Sophie's Special Emails - This will be a newsletter that goes out about once every two weeks. […]
  • RSS Living Our Faith Out Loud

    • The Right Ingredients by Nancy Shew Bolton
      The Right Ingredients by Nancy Shew BoltonMissing the right ingredients for a life of joy, a young baker learns lessons in the true recipe for love. About the Book:Ann’s hectic work responsibilities demand all her time and effort, and what was once a useful, satisfactory life has become a burden. Her bakery partner Susan has lost none of her enthusiasm for t […]
    • CrossReads Book Blast with Michelle Word Hollis
      It's in the House: Lessons from a Widow Woman - Getting What You Need & More!By Michelle Word HollisAbout the Book:In this book you will discover the powerful lessons, from the Biblical story of the Widow's Oil, that will help you overcome any difficulty you are currently facing. You will learn easy to implement strategies that will cause posit […]
    • Book Review: Trevelyan by Naomi Musch
      TrevelyanNaomi Musch      Publisher: Desert Breeze Publishing, Inc. (May 21, 2014)     ASIN: B00KI26HKW4.99, 10.95 printBuy on AmazonFrom the publisher: Five men and two Elven princes have embarked upon a quest: to save a sister from the wasteland of the Great Winter where she is held in the clutches of a Monster Lord who all believe brought desecration and […]
  • RSS Nearly Brilliant

    • Book Giveaway: Success is Your Birthright by R Stanton Tucker
      We are offering a book giveaway for one print copy of R. Stanton Tucker's new book, Success is Your Birthright.  To enter, leave a comment with you email at the end of this blog post stating why you would like to win this book. Drawing ends October 10th. Book Blurb:  Life resembles a roller coaster. It has suspense, intrigue, smooth moments, hairpin tur […]
    • Book Review: The Newspaper Code by Lisa Lickel
      A part of the Buried Treasure Series, in this book we join school teacher Judy Wingate settling into motherhood following the birth of her new baby. When Esme an older lady who was a member of the local garden club turns up dead with a garden claw in the middle of her forehead at the base of a statue in the center of town, Judy is determined to find out more […]
    • Book Launch : Lake Surrender Book Launch by Carol Stratton
      Carol Stratton is proud to announce her first novel, Lake Surrender.The story is about a career editor who loses her marriage, house and job. As a single parent of a precocious pre-teen and an autistic son, she’s forced to find a more inexpensive place to live than the San Francisco Bay Area. She ends up in Northern Michigan working as a cook at a dilapidate […]
  • BLOG NEWS

    Thank you for your encouragement and support for the past three years. We've had fun connecting with you and hope you've found useful material here on Reflections. And here's the but... Reflections In Hindsight is closing on December 21, 2012. Elaine and Sophie and I can be found over at http://authorculture.blogspot.com; April can be found at Clash of the Titles, http://www.clashofthetitles, http://www.aprilgardner.com and watch for news for more novels from her!; Janet is ever-present on the Internet with her very special words of wisdom and grace at http://www.janetperezeckles.com, and Luther--who knows where he'll show up next, but I'd watch my back if I were you... Book Reviews are always important, so I, Lisa, will continue to offer them through my blog, as well as those promotions for your new books or book launches, or your news.
  • Second Monday: Sophie Dawson

  • Tuesdays – Promotion in Motion

  • Wednesdays: Life of a Writer – April & Positivity – Lisa Lickel

  • Thursdays – Luther’s on board

  • Fridays – Revolutionary Faith, Devotions by Elaine

  • Saturdays – Janet Perez Eckles

  • Sunday – Reflections Book Reviews

  • Blog Authors

  • The Barn Door

  • The Barn Door Book Loft. Free Books! Book Giveaways.

  • John 3:16 Marketing Network widget and many other great free widgets at Widgetbox! Not seeing a widget? (More info)>

Big News in My Life

Posted by Ben Erlichman on October 6, 2011

Well, everything about my life as I know it is about to change. I will soon have less freedom, less time, less money. I’ll get less sleep, have less energy, and I will have to scale back to fewer projects.

Why?

My wife is pregnant with our first child.

We found out a couple of months ago and recently heard our baby’s heartbeat. We’ll be heading to our next doctor’s appointment soon, and my understanding is that shortly after we will get to see our baby on an ultrasound.

Yes, we want to determine the baby’s gender in advance. That way we can tell our family and friends how to shop. We have a few names selected for both genders, but I’m not going to tell them to you because I don’t want you to steal them. ;)

Our plan is (as of now) that my wife Ashley will take her maternity leave from her teaching job at the end of the school year (she’s due March 22nd, and we’re hoping the baby will be fashionably late), and I’ll take some time off from my ogre slavedriver of a boss (my dad) as well. Then, once we’re a bit more settled in, I’ll get back to work while Ashley stays home with the kid.

We also are blessed to have my parents living in close proximity, which will help to enable us to go back to work after next summer. My mom has already said she’d take care of our baby every Wednesday. That’s awesome. My dad, who runs his own business, said he would take one day (Friday or Monday) with the kid, and I’m planning to take at least one day as well. That leaves only two days we have to account for each week, and truthfully, I could probably work at home for some of that time while the baby sleeps–IF the baby sleeps.

Hopefully that way Ashley can go back to work next fall so we have a steady income. Or, even better, hopefully I sell a book or seven and make tons of money off the royalties from their sales. This is all hypothetical, of course, but my point is that I’m trying to think about this ahead of time.

So, all you seasoned, professional parents out there, here’s your chance. In the comments section, tell me one or two things (as concisely as possible) that you wish you would have known about parenting, or raising a baby, or anything related to that.

I’m looking forward to what you have to say.

-Ben

12 Responses to “Big News in My Life”

  1. John Wheeler (יוחנן רכב) said

    I’m single so I can’t offer any advice – only my most sincere and hearty congratulations. You write in a way that puts us all “where you are”.

  2. Oh, wow- congratulations! However did you keep it a secret? Can I be a grandma?
    One thing I wish I’d known ahead of time – my goodness, I was just thinking yesterday about all the dreadful parenting mistakes I made with my kids and how they turned out pretty good in spite of that. I wish I’d played with them more outside. I certainly wasn’t perfect, but I’m glad I read to them, taught them the Lord’s prayer when they were toddlers, had books around, took them places and volunteered at school, made church a natural part of the week and taught them to cook. I guess I wish I’d encouraged them to clean more often. :)

  3. A career mom with two kids might say: 1) Value your current eight hours of sleep per night, 2) Keep the Clorox wipes handy, and 3) You might miss a football game or two. (I’m just sayin’.) But – here is my real advice: Tuck the special moments with your wife and newborn away in your memory, for they are fleeting. You will blink and your baby will soon be a child. Blink again ans they will be growing still. You’ll look at your wife and realize it mightnot have been possible before, but you love her even more when you are made three. Blessings Ben and Ashley – this is going to be a beautiful ride.

  4. CONGRATULATIONS!! There’s nothing like the joy of that first child. So happy for you both!!

    My advice? Think of 2-3 sets of godly Christian parents who have children that are obedient, respectful, and happy doing so. (the happy part is essential)Then GRILL those parents on how they do it. Watch them interact with their kids. Watch how they react to issues that crop up. Take note of how they train and discipline. Doing those things went a LONG way toward helping me in those first years of parenthood. Since parenting is an evolving process, it’s a practice that I continue to this day. God intentionally places wise people in our path. It’s our responsibility to seek them out and humbly listen to their advice. Then have the self discipline to put it into practice! LOL

    Many blessings!!

  5. Don’t listen to people who don’t have kids. They’re clueless. :)

    Ginger
    mom to seven

  6. Marisa said

    I’m glad I didn’t know anything. I loved the surprises around every corner!
    Marisa

  7. Kyriann O'Brien said

    one thing i’ve learned from my family is to do all the research. Especially when it comes to medical stuff like shots and even giving birth and the things they offer. There is so much out there that doctors give to parents to give their kids that has been proven to actually hurt their health, even while in he womb. Try being more homeopathic even :)

  8. Nikki Stenson said

    While pregnant we watched a documentary called, “The Business of Being Born” (it’s pretty out there and I will warn you that you will see a lot of women giving birth, but it makes you think.) And we read the book, “The Birth Partner.” Both were great and helped us figure out exactly what kind of birth we wanted to have.

    Enjoy every moment! It’s SO awesome!!!

  9. Ben!! Congratulations, Daddy! SO VERY EXCITED for you and your wife! After reading all of the above advice, I gotta tell you—everyone will have their piece of it for you! Some of it will work and some…well…just smile and say, “thanks”, then do what your instincts are telling you! Above all else, PRAY! Pray for wisdom for you and Ashley, that the Lord will guide you in EVERY decision you make, from cloth vs. disposable diapers, to how to school them. As a nurse, I’ll give my 2 cents about immunizations: PLEASE get your child immunized. All three of my triplet grandbabies have received their shots. They are happy, healthy and not autistic as false rumors still imply can be a side-effect. Most of all, enjoy him or her and do realize as another friend has so truthfully said above: he or she will be grown and gone before you can blink an eye. Blessings, dear daddy!

  10. Shasta mc NayNay said

    Sometimes, destiny just strikes. Sometimes it doesn’t. This is the only advice you should listen. All else is false.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,247 other followers

